Do Graphic Novels Count As Books?

How Your Answer to This Question Reflects Something Deeper

Jake Pitts
iamjakepitts

--

Cover of Batman & Robin Eternal, Volume 1: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27246000-batman-and-robin-eternal-volume-1?from_search=true&from_srp=true&qid=77IM9mZKhn&rank=1

This year I’m going to read more books than ever before. My current record is 53 which wasn’t easy but it was surprisingly more attainable than I realized when I started that year. This year I’m setting my eyes on 60. But in order to get there, I have to embrace the “yes” side of an important question I have brought to several people in my circle…

Are graphic novels books?

For context, I don’t really read fiction books. I dominantly read nonfiction. That’s how I’ve always been. In fact, the list of books I have read is HEAVILY nonfiction. All of my academic interests have been philosophical, social, and theological and my reading interests have aligned accordingly.

The only fiction content I really read is in the form of graphic novels.

Here’s my particular struggle. Sure, graphic novels have text. There’s dialogue, both inner and conversational. But it is dominantly a visual art. This makes the page count completely deceiving. A graphic novel could have 450 pages but if you reduced it just to its text you might be reading between 150–200 pages. As a person who is prone to perfectionism and comparison, I don’t feel right adding graphic novels to my list of books I have…

--

--