LIFE-LESSONS

I Defend Myself With Silence. You Should Too.

The best revenge is served in silence.

Mila
ILLUMINATION-Curated
6 min readMar 4, 2021

--

Credits By Unsplash

Tom Kuegler’s latest article got me thinking about the people who put me down in my life. Tom called out a certain writer, let’s call him The Critic, who has hurt Tom with a vicious comment. Tom waited, worked, and achieved great things, and then he served it all to The Critic, hoping to shut him up for good. Did it work?

No.

Tom gave into this hater, he gave him exposure and showed publicly how much The Critic played an important role in his life. Haters prey on attention and we must not give them that. Let me explain why.

The Little Boy Who Came Second

Since I can remember, people like Tom’s Critic always surrounded me.

In my fifth grade, I was bullied because I was Serbian. In 1999, NATO bombed Serbia. Most of the western media portrayed Serbians as dangerous. The kids in my class called me various names, and I had no friends.

There was a particular person, let’s call him Little Boy, who just loved to pick up on me. One name he used to call me was a “Muslim killer.” Now let that sink for a while.

How do you think it made an 8-year-old feel?

--

--

Mila
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Writer, Screenwriter, Role Model and just ultra-cool babe. I’m fearless. I’m a writer. I don’t quit. I use my imagination to inspire others! I know who I am!