Life Lessons

Remarkable Health Benefits of Long-Term Fasting from Personal Experience

Here’s why I fast for ten days at the end of each year.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION-Curated
11 min readDec 31, 2023

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

Friend Links to My Sample Boosted Stories for Non-Members of Medium.com

As the year draws to a close, I share this story while in a fasted state: my body is rich in β-Hydroxybutyrate (BHB) with ideal glucose levels. This condition gives me a serene and contented feeling, mental sharpness, and a beautiful lightness of being.

As my family joyfully celebrates the New Year amidst bustling streets, vibrant fireworks, and cheerful chaos, I opt for a more serene celebration. I embrace the peace of a quieter space, away from the clamor of the city’s festivities, where my heart feels more content and fulfilled than in the hollow jubilance of the New Year celebrations.

Ten days ago, I purposefully embarked on a fasting journey with five meditation sessions, an annual ritual to clean my body and mind. This intentional practice, regular intermittent fasting, and light workouts like Yoga and Pilates form a strategic intervention designed to enhance my overall health and well-being.

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION-Curated

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com