Novice Advice

5 Dangerous Lies I Told Myself As a Writer (Probably You Did Too)

Mindset shift that you can incorporate

Sonika Prasad
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readSep 11, 2023

--

The picture depicts a little puppo dog who tilts its head to appear adorable. Must have told some lie to the owner! haha
Photo by Kyle Mackie on Unsplash. Look at this adorable puppo! Must have told some lie to his pet human :))

Humans are a strange species. We sense danger from afar only to walk into risky situations with a false notion that all is well. Even when it isn’t.

How often have we played with matches like a curious kid, unaware of the potential of a destructive blaze?

I’ve been in the same boat and it hasn’t been quite long since I noticed this faulty behavior in me.

As a naive writer, I’m captivated by the art of writing online. So, my words may not hold the authority of a seasoned expert, but bear with me!

With a little online writing experience, I have sometimes misled myself along the way.

1. I’m incapable.

Back in 2020, when Covid began, I lay down on my bed, checking out some side gigs, while I was still in college.

It was then that I came across a video where a man spoke about writing on Medium, I thought to myself — Nah!

Me? A writer? Never.

How far could a Chemistry graduate with little knowledge of Literature could go?

Little did I know, I’d use Medium as my journal diary, my blank pages to write my opinions and views.

I had no clue back then that writing online would give me a sense of purpose, build a strong tribe, and, have a voice.

It’s been writing on Medium, on and off for around five months now and it has boosted my confidence and belief in my own voice.

Mindset shift:

  • I reflected on the areas where I felt incapable. I got used to words.
  • I wrote my first article on Medium which was on my childhood. A memoir. I started telling stories.
  • Some positive affirmations did help. I reminded myself that I do not need to be Shakespeare. I just had to be me.

What changed?

Hey! I am a writer, already!

2. “I don’t have time”

I kicked off my Medium writing journey with lots of enthusiasm and consistency. Within a couple of months, it became a challenge to incorporate it into my daily timetable.

I was hampering either my health, career, or professional life.

I had my exams around the corner and I had convinced myself that I didn’t have enough time.

What followed suit was, that I lost view counts and email subscribers.

Although I still believe that my sole purpose of writing on Medium is to have an outlet for my thoughts, having an audience is an added benefit.

A true essentialist has the ability and willingness to choose effectively.

People who achieve success in life are true essentialists. They do not boast about how disciplined, and consistent they are.

Their actions show.

After being on a sabbatical for two and a half months, I am here again, finding calmness in the art of writing.

Mindset shift:

  • I broke the entire work system of writing an article into chunks. Write now, Edit later.
  • I also make time for my writing. It need not be 1000+ words, most days I write about ~250 words, and sometimes just a few sentences.

What changed?

I still don’t have time. I cannot find time for writing. I make time.

3. I’ll do it later.

There is no perfect time to do something that will move you a step ahead towards your goal.

I spent quite some time before I hibernated thinking and planning what would be the best time for me to write.

The constant inner dialogue about when to fit my writing routine into my day, grew too chaotic for me to manage.

Mindset shift:

  • I started setting specific deadlines. Instead of spending the entire day thinking about writing and editing, I started spending an hour or a half writing my thoughts out. I never went beyond this time.
  • I created a sense of urgency. I am a student and a teacher, and make time for my writing. I knew that if I didn’t write in those hours, I could not write that day.

What changed?

I still haven’t figured out the right time to write, cause I know in my heart of hearts that it will never come and if I sit waiting for the right time, I might have to take another sabbatical.

I’m yet to pinpoint a time that wouldn’t interfere with my daily routine or take a big chunk of my day.

One thing remains fixed: I don’t extend my writing schedule beyond an allotted hour.

4. I’m too late to do it

At the beginning of my Medium journey, I observed scores of writers churning out articles one after the other. I knew for sure that mine was to be lost in this abyss.

I believed that I was already running behind, as they call it, for fear of missing out (FOMO).

I convinced myself that even if I started today, I could never make progress, and could never catch up with the volumes of articles already published on Medium.

J.K Rowling, author of the infamous Harry Porter, started her successful career as an author at 32 years old. Colonel Sanders, founder of KFC started his fried chicken business at the age of 60.

It’s the asset that most of us miss out on until it’s gone. The returns of the compounding effect of time are rewarding.

Mindset shift:

  • Instead of thinking, I’m already too late to dive into it, I just dive.
  • There are many things I (and probably you too) have regretted not having started earlier. Chances are I (you) are still putting it off.
  • Play the game to stay in the game.
  • My motto in life has changed to One life. Just do it!

What changed?

I have published around 20+ articles, but I still call myself a writer who finds joy in writing. Hey! I started. Did you?

5. “They got lucky”

Competitor analysis is good as long as it does not inflate your delusional ego.

Starting out, I often thought to myself that some writers have such a huge following, devoted readerships, and so many ideas to write about. Talent maybe or even luck? I was so wrong.

In all these months of writing articles, writing is not a cakewalk. Even for those who have reached the pinnacle of success. Yet, they persevered.

Gustavo Keurten, the Brazillian Tennis legend, posed a challenge to Roger Federer in his early career. That certainly didn’t dodge Federer’s unwavering self-belief. Imagine if Roger had given up thinking I have got better competitors who have lucked out.

Roger Federer wouldn’t be one of the greatest Tennis players in history with 20 Grand Slam titles. See the difference?

Mindset shift:

  • It looks all easy from the outside but success in any field or life needs people who can pull me (you) up and most importantly, someone I (you) can learn from.
  • Learning grit and resilience from fellow writers.
  • I have started measuring the progress I’ve made, and the gaps (followers, skillsets) that have been filled.

What changed?

For starters, I don’t call them competitors.

I have started feeling good about my fellow writer’s progress. I always did. I knew I would and can reach the success I am aiming for and it all needs consistency and mindfulness.

I now analyze my fellow writers and take notes on how they have succeeded and the steps they have taken to reach where they are.

Tell me! What are the lies that you have constantly fed yourself with? What did you learn from other writers and most importantly, how has your writing journey been? I’m all ears!

Do you like reading? Me too.

Did you like what you just read? If yes, don’t miss when my articles get published.

Subscribe and don’t let the algorithm decide what you read.

--

--

Sonika Prasad
ILLUMINATION

Chemistry Grad Student, you'll mostly find me in the lab. Not a wordsmith, no better than ChatGPT, twisted like a pretzel, uses word to make sense.