5 Skills I Learned From Drawing

And how they can improve your writing.

Ashley Nicole
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by GoaShape on Unsplash

As an animation student, part of my core education was intense training in drawing. Drawing isn’t just for art students- it can often be used in military training because of the valuable skills that you develop in other areas that are transferable.

Similar to my experiences in marching band, I learned a lot of different skills from my drawing education that I use today, such as patience, observation, Revision, non-perfectionism, and criticism.

Patience

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

From drawing, I learned how to be patient. Before I started my journey in animation, I could not draw well. I realized that it was a required foundational skill, so I started taking drawing classes in high school. I needed to build my portfolio to get into art school.

--

--

Ashley Nicole
ILLUMINATION

Lover of puns. I make films, games, & other fun stuff. Check out my art, writing, and more: linktr.ee/aloop