5 Thirty-Second Lifestyle Hacks For a Happier Life

Boosting your mood in 30 seconds with small changes that have big results

G. B
ILLUMINATION
3 min readMar 21, 2023

--

Photo of Woman Raising Both Hands
Photo by Daniel Reche

Have you ever felt like life is just rushing by, and you're barely keeping up? That's how I felt for a long time. Between work, family, and other responsibilities, it felt like I was just going through the motions. Thus, I decided to actively try to become a happier, more engaged person.

Learning to live with fear taught me that small habits can make a big difference. So, instead of making big, overwhelming changes to my lifestyle, I focused on small 30-second hacks. I wanted to find little ways to inject more joy and positivity into my daily routine.

These five 30-second lifestyle hacks may seem small, but they've brought more positivity and happiness into my life.

1. The 365-day happy picture project

Every day — and I do mean every single day — I take a picture of something that makes me happy, and I post it on my finsta account.

It could be a picture of a homemade meal, a meme that made me laugh, or even a cloud that sort of looks like a slipper. The quality of the picture doesn't matter, it's the emotion I want to capture. A blurry picture of the moon often means more than a picture-perfect sunset.

This project has not only allowed me to capture small moments of joy but also forced me to reflect on what truly brings me happiness in life. It's like having a scrapbook of my year, which allows me to relive the memories and emotions associated with each photo.

2. Sending good morning and good night messages

I've fully embraced my 'Whatsapp Uncle-ness' and send good morning or good night messages to my friends and family every day.

Sometimes, it's the only message on the chat.

But I still do it. Because it takes 30 seconds for me to stay connected and let my loved ones know that I'm thinking of them. It's a small act of kindness that has a ripple effect on my relationships.

3. Deep breathing before an impulsive decision

Have you ever made a decision on a whim that you later regretted? I know I have. That's why I've started doing a 30-second meditation before making any impulsive decisions.

When I feel the urge to buy a candy bar at the checkout line or send an angry message to a friend, I close my eyes and take a few deep breaths. This simple pause helps me regain my focus and avoid making decisions that I might later regret. The deep breaths almost jolt my brain back into action and make me more mindful of my actions.

4. Dancing it out in the morning

Mornings can be tough, especially if you're not a morning person. That's why I've started a new habit: dancing it out. A lesson learned from the one-and-only Dr. Cristina Yang.

After I get ready in the morning, I take 30 seconds to dance around my room. I jump, I twirl, and I toss my hair around.

It might sound silly, but it helps me start the day on a positive note. I feel more confident and relaxed. Plus, it's a great way to get some energy flowing, and it's almost as good as that first cup of coffee.

5. More hugs or high-fives

Humans need affection.

Studies have shown that physical touch can release oxytocin, a hormone that helps us feel connected and happy. That's why I try to get a daily dose of hugs or high-fives.

If I'm with my family or friends, I'll give them a big 30-second long hug. But if I'm at work, I'll settle for a high-five after a job well done. A small moment of bonding can have a big impact on my mood and relationships.

These five 30-second lifestyle hacks might seem small, but they've made a big difference in my overall happiness. It's hard to commit to a big lifestyle change or focus on mindfulness when I'm swamped with work. These hacks are easy to incorporate into my daily life and have become habits that I look forward to.

Who knows, they might just work for you. So give them a try, and let me know how they work for you!

--

--

G. B
ILLUMINATION

Follow my digital diary for my weekly musings / structured thoughts on business models, pop-culture, health, and workplace culture