A “Double-Dog Dare” Writing Challenge

Tree Langdon
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readApr 24, 2021

--

The infamous Word By Word Dictionary is back.

legs in jeans wearing workboots in front of orange corrugated wall
Dogs are slang for feet. Photo by Brandon Couch on Unsplash

This spring I’ve been playing with some new friends on Medium.

We’ve been writing stories in response to 30-day writing challenges.

You know the ones.

“Write a poem a day for x days, or write a story using this word as inspiration.”

I don’t know about you, but I can’t resist these challenges, especially if the words spark something in my brain.

The synapses start to whir and as my friend Claire Kelly says, I’m lost in the ‘caverns of my mind’.

Last spring I was playing with a group of friends, making up ‘Words That Should Be In The Dictionary.

We had a lot of fun writing about words that we thought should already exist.

I had a great idea.

Why not take these ‘words’ and create a writing challenge.

Words like:

#11. Confoundium

--

--

Tree Langdon
ILLUMINATION

I write stories, and poetry, and create sketches inspired by my dreams for the world. https://wordsinmotion.substack.com/