Metabolic and Cognitive Health

Acetyl-L-Carnitine: Here’s Why Fitness and Longevity Communities Embrace It

I supplement with ALCAR as it is good for metabolic health, fitness, and cognitive function, and it may prevent dementia.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION
Published in
10 min readJan 31, 2024

--

Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko from Pexels

I have been investigating the beneficial effects of acetyl-L-carnitine (ALCAR) on the brain for cognitive function for a long time. After 2010, I also started researching metabolic health and fitness benefits as I found compelling studies published in peer-reviewed journals.

Since then, I have also used ALCAR as a supplement for various reasons that I briefly explain in this article. Although some people reported side effects, I haven’t experienced any for over a decade, so I continue using it safely and monitoring my progress through blood work.

I only write about essential and well-researched supplements with compelling bodily and cognitive benefits. ALCAR is one of them that gained my confidence; therefore, I pass along my knowledge and experience.

Unlike other hyped supplements on the market, it is not an ordinary supplement and is not hyped. Instead, it is widely used by informed athletes and fitness enthusiasts, especially those following time-restricted eating

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com