Comfort or Style? How to Dress for Your Workout Goals

Rukaya_Writes
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min read4 days ago
Photo by David Hofmann on Unsplash

This was an expensive lesson to learn

I just splurged on a trendy workout outfit that I can’t work out in. Sorrows, sorrows, prayers.

It is really cute but the moment I tried to squat, I realized it’s more of a fashion statement than a workout essential. It is tight, uncomfortable, and I makes me feel more self-conscious than motivated. This really was an expensive lesson to learn.

Comfort is king when it comes to working out and for that, you need clothes that move with you, not against you. Knowing this, I still let Tiktok influence me into buying a trendy and pricey set. Now I’m here to deinfluence you.

You can’t focus on your workout when you’re more worried about your clothes, which is why you should prioritize comfortable and durable clothing. Look for pieces with fabrics that breathe, wick away moisture and provide proper support.

Also, you don’t need to break bank to get good work out clothes. There are a lot of affordable options like thrift stores, affordable fitness-wear brands, cheap retailers and online vendors easily found on social media. You could also repurpose some of your old wardrobe pieces. My first gym outfit was an old sports bra of mine and a tracksuit from my mum’s closet, now I get my fits from trusted Cameroon brands on Instagram (except for this latest mishap).

It’s what you do in the clothes that matters not their label.

So, next time you’re tempted to buy that expensive or trendy workout outfit that you don’t need, at least make sure it fits the relevant criteria. A comfortable, functional outfit that lets you move freely is all you need to crush your fitness goals. If you can afford an expensive functional workout fit though, there’s no reason why you shouldn’t go for it.

--

--

Rukaya_Writes
ILLUMINATION

Medical Student | Health & Wellness Writer | Life Of The Party rukayangangjoh@gmail.com for inquiries.