My Writing Journey. Health and Wellness.

Day 85 of my 100-Day Writing Challenge: High on Adrenaline, New Adventures, and Failure.

Know more about me.

Wambui Njuguna
ILLUMINATION

--

It’s 85 days since I started my 100-day writing challenge on Medium. A quick pop into my profile will establish I haven’t posted an article every day for the past 84 days.

By definition of this challenge, I have failed to accomplish what I hoped to.

However, I have achieved more than I thought in other building blocks of my career development.

Building blocks
Photo by Volodymyr Hryshchenko on Unsplash

In this article, I choose to dwell on what I have achieved and focus less on my failed Medium strategy.

I share my setbacks on this challenge throughout the journey in several previous articles.

Since I started this writing challenge, I hoped to increase my library of content on Medium and on my social media. I hoped to build my authority as a writer.

Before this challenge, my biggest mistake was writing only when an idea popped into my mind. I waited for motivation.

I had no discipline and no strategies. No building blocks to help me develop my career as a writer.

Writing on Medium regularly helped me build my discipline, flexed my creativity muscles, and was my first experience with what it means to be a writer and what it takes to be a successful one.

Since then, I have significantly increased my library of content online, increased my discipline as a writer, and created amazing things that brought out an indistinguishable inferno in me. I brought out the creative beast in me.

Some of the significant things I have done are posting consistently on LinkedIn and Twitter, writing regularly, starting a newsletter on Substack, and starting a YouTube channel using illustrations to get my ideas across (still in its birthing stage). All that while networking with other writers and potential clients and pitching.

It has been a roller coaster, to say the least, but not a bad one.

Up to a few days ago, I had no trouble showing up every day, evaluating, and improving. I tweaked my profiles when I saw the need to and didn’t tire of creating content and upskilling.

Until my recent project, Having a Health Relationship With Your Environment.

Having a healthy relationship with your environment is my new strategy to earn a little money on Medium. Stripe is inaccessible in my country which makes me ineligible for the Medium Partner Program.

I wanted to earn money through my writing on this platform and there was no better way than to share a series of articles on the one topic I constantly talk about, and one that helped me transform into the person I am.

As much as I could talk about this topic for hours, it did not feel easy starting this project and getting the work needed to ensure its success.

I lost my confidence at some point and did not feel worthy to take on such a huge task on my own.

Having a healthy relationship with your environment teaches you how to have a more fulfilling life by regulating and using what is already available to you in your environment to nurture your growth.

I have experienced a lot of emotions and thoughts that crippled my productivity when bringing this project to life.

At one point, I felt like I was running solely on adrenaline and had to catch myself before crashing. It was an exciting and scary experience all at once.

For the past few days, I have been working on dealing with these emotions and getting the work done with as little friction as possible.

This is by far the most stressful of my building blocks, strategies, and projects. Not in the sense that it makes me full of stress ulcers but in the sense that it creates a lot of friction in my mind. But that is no match for my creativity beast.

On day 84 of 100, while I agree I have undeniably failed to implement my Medium strategy, I am also celebrating my development in my writing career so far.

It is about six months since I took up writing online seriously, and only one of those in the holistic health niche.

There are no multiple zeros in my bank account yet, but this is the most fulfilled and content I have felt. It creates a feeling within me that I cannot explain.

Also, I started crocheting again, which I first learned about a year ago but was inconsistent at. Creating beauty out of yarn and a sized hook creates a particular joy that inflation cannot take away. I’m serious.

👉 I need better implementation of my strategies, to build up my discipline a little stronger, and to find balance within myself.

I neglected writing on Medium more every time I had a new project to work on. I lacked balance.

I failed at one thing, but it would be self-torture to focus on that one negative while I have several things to celebrate.

That’s how you preserve your energy.

Putting your mind to one of these things drains you. The other energizes you. Choose wisely.

Your holistic health writer, 💜

Wambui Njuguna.

I have published a few articles on Having a healthy relationship with your environment. Contact me via email at wambuinjuguna707@gmail.com to receive the links for a small fee of $5 before the price goes up when I turn them into an e-book.

Connect with me on LinkedIn and Twitter. You can also DM me there to receive full access to all unlisted articles.

--

--

Wambui Njuguna
ILLUMINATION

Compiling my first book, How to develop a healthy relationship with your environment, in my newsletter. Get access: https://wambui.carrd.co/