Good news for Indian writers.

Finally, the Medium Partner Program will be available in India

What kind of articles should you write on Medium? Update: For India, Brazil, and Thailand, MPP will be delayed by two months.

Inu Etc
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJul 28, 2023

--

Inu Etc in Seven Sisters Waterfall, Nohsngithiang, Cherrapunji, Meghalaya, India. Photo by Inu Etc

Since 2018, I have been active on Medium and am waiting for the Medium Partner Program to come to India.

In 2022, I stopped waiting for the Medium Partner Program and started writing regularly on Medium just because I love to write.

I gave up on the idea of making money from Medium and I wrote and published articles about topics I really care about but can’t publish on my own blog.

I used to write just my thoughts and experiences on Medium but I got a welcoming audience who motivated me to write more. Some readers even supported me financially through Buy Me a Coffee. It is so wonderful to be a part of this community, and I always receive constructive criticism and detailed feedback when I post something.

Eventually, I gave up waiting for MPP and thought it probably won’t come to India anytime soon.

Then, to my surprise, I received the news that Indian writers will now be able to join the MPP and monetize their writing on Medium as well.

Besides India, on August 1st, 2023, Medium will expand the Partner Program to accept applications from the following countries: Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Gibraltar, Hungary, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Malta, Thailand, and the United Arab Emirates. They plan to expand the MPP to another 50 countries by the end of the year.

What kind of articles should I publish on Medium?

Write for humans, not robots.

You should write from your heart, use simple language, add your thoughts, experiences, and knowledge, and try to connect with your readers.

Also, don’t publish AI-generated content directly on Medium.

If you are going to use AI for your writing, you should be sure to edit and make sure that the article generated by AI looks like an original piece before publishing it.

You should add your experience and thoughts to the AI-generated draft to make it as original as possible.

Medium wants to encourage writers to share more original, high-quality personal stories, and hidden life wisdom.

They don’t want to incentivize attention-grabbing clickbait, AI-generated writing, misinformation, hate, and other forms of polarizing negativity.

So, just write personal stories, share your experiences, share your knowledge, write fiction, non-fiction, whatever you want. Write as a human for fellow humans.

Don’t just write for money; write because you love to write, and money will follow. Money is important, but I wouldn’t survive on Medium if I only wanted money.

What do I need to join the Medium Partner Program?

To join MPP, you simply need to have an active Medium account and the Medium Membership Plan.

The 100 followers aren’t required to join MPP anymore, but they are obviously necessary to make money on Medium. The more audience you have, the more money you’ll earn on Medium.

I’m not sure how much money we’ll make from Medium. I wish we could all become millionaire writers by writing good articles on Medium. LOL.

Let’s hope for the best. 🤞

Update (1 August 2023): I waited all day with full anticipation to join the MPP and saw no update from Medium. I finally received this update from Medium today at the end of the day. (It's almost 2 August in India)

"We expect the delay to be two months for India, Brazil, and Thailand." - Tony Stubblebine, The Medium Blog.

You can read the full article here.

Thanks for reading this article. 💚

If you loved what you read, would you be able to buy me a cup of coffee? It’s okay if you can’t right now.

If you have any questions or if you wanna work with me, feel free to contact me. I’m always available to help young hustlers like you @InuEtc on Instagram.

Keep hustling!

Inu Etc

InuEtc.com from Inuidea.com

--

--

Inu Etc
ILLUMINATION

I help young hustlers build their own online businesses. | Inuidea.com, InuEtc.com | Co-founder - Hostneur.com | Writer, blogger, web developer, traveler. 💚