Freelancing Isn’t Easy, But Here’s How I’m Overcoming the Challenges

Kolawole
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readSep 27, 2024
Photo by Anh Tuan T on Unsplash

Last November, I set an ambitious goal to break into the global freelancing scene and start earning on Fiverr. You can check out my original post here. Since then, I’ve made some progress as a freelancer, thanks to my existing network and connections. However, tapping into Fiverr’s vast potential has been a tougher challenge than initially anticipated.

But every challenge presents an opportunity for growth, right? Instead of seeing this as a setback, I’ve embraced the learning curve. I’ve committed to studying the strategies of the most successful freelancers — those who’ve mastered Fiverr and other freelancing platforms. These people have cracked the code, and I’m determined to learn from them. My ultimate goal? To move beyond local opportunities and earn dollars, creating sustainable income streams that will propel my career forward.

I’ve realized that freelancing is more than just setting up a profile and waiting for clients to come to you. It requires continuous learning, adapting, and a strategic approach to standing out in a highly competitive space. That’s why I’ve been taking a step back to reassess and learn everything I can about the ins and outs of Fiverr. From refining my profile and portfolio to understanding how to attract the right clients, I’m putting in the work.

If you’re curious to follow along with my journey, I invite you to connect with me on LinkedIn. I’ll be sharing regular updates there about my progress — everything from new strategies I’m implementing to the challenges I face along the way. While I’ll still post here on Medium occasionally, LinkedIn will be my main platform for sharing how I’m building connections and finding ways to attract clients from across the globe.

One thing I’ve noticed is that freelancing, especially on platforms like Fiverr, is not just about getting projects — it’s about creating value and building relationships. This realization has reshaped my freelancing approach. Now, I’m focused not just on earning money but also on creating lasting professional relationships that can open doors to even bigger opportunities down the line.

I know I’ve been a bit quiet on Medium, and that’s because I’ve been heads-down, immersing myself in learning and building a solid foundation for my freelancing career. A big part of this journey involves growing my social media presence and building a personal brand that reflects my skills and values. It’s all about positioning myself as not just another digital marketer, but as someone who delivers real results.

So, if you’re looking for a digital marketer who’s committed to growing, learning, and achieving success alongside you, I’d love to connect on LinkedIn. Let’s grow together, share ideas, and collaborate to help each other reach our professional goals. Whether it’s brainstorming strategies, sharing insights, or partnering on projects, I believe we can all achieve more when we support one another.

And hey, if you’ve got any tips or strategies for mastering Fiverr or other freelancing platforms, I’m all ears! I’d genuinely appreciate any advice or insights you’re willing to share. Your experiences could be the missing piece that helps me (and others in the community) take freelancing to the next level. Let’s turn this journey into a collective learning experience.

--

--

Kolawole
ILLUMINATION

📝 Digital Marketing Blogger | 📄 Copywriting Ninja | 💡 Content Strategist