From Grief to Gratitude: Finding Light in Times of Darkness

Even in the brightest Corners, hides a sorrowful Heart

Dr Ishrat Bano
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readJun 13, 2023

--

In the cozy corner of the coffee shop, where the comforting aroma of freshly brewed coffee permeated the air, there was a young barista who had always been a ray of sunshine. Her vibrant smile and contagious laughter filled the room with warmth and joy. It seemed as though nothing could dim her spirits, until that fateful day when I noticed a shadow cast upon her usual radiance.

Photo by Wendy Wei from Pexels:

Approaching the counter with my usual order in mind, I couldn’t help but notice the absence of her infectious smile. Concerned for her well-being, I mustered the courage to ask her what had transpired. With a heavy heart, she confided in me, revealing the recent passing of her single mother, the pillar of her world.

My heart shattered into a thousand pieces as I witnessed the weight of her grief. It was as if a cloud of sorrow had settled upon her, stealing away the light that once danced in her eyes.

The realization that even the sunniest of souls could be consumed by darkness struck me deeply.

Determined to offer solace in her time of need, I pondered on how to bring a glimmer of light back into her life.

--

--