I need a break!

Part 7: An Untitled Story Sequence

comfort eboigbe
ILLUMINATION
2 min readMar 20, 2024

--

Why is everything working against me?

Can’t I just catch a break?

Who knew that a famine could cause such disastrous effects? Let me back up.

Babel does not produce food of her own. Therefore, she relies completely on our neighbors to thrive.

Unfortunately, this year, there has been a famine in all the regions around Babel.

This has placed Babel in a difficult position.

The famine has caused the surrounding cities to panic and hoard grains, resulting in a massive spike in food prices!

Foreign investors have begun to pull out of entertainment in Babel in favor of investing in sourcing and preserving food. What was once a bubbling city has become a desolate land. The glitz and glamour have begun to wane, and many who can’t escape struggle with lack and want.

I would also love to leave, but I spent all I had trying to turn my house into an irresistible party hub.

All for nothing.

People are fleeing Babel so fast that it has toppled the housing market.

Everything I own, worthless!!!

I called all my friends together because maybe we could find a way forward. It would be best to leave Babel and start over.

Someone once said:

“Brothers are born for adversity.”

Perhaps this is what they meant. I am very sure that as long as we put our minds to it, there is nothing we cannot tackle.

Peter was the first to speak up. They had all met and agreed that it was time to return home.

Home!? What does he mean by home!?

I have no other home.

It has been nine years since I have seen my father and brother. I have not heard from them since the day I left. I broke my father’s heart. I succeeded in taking all I could from them and cutting them off.

How could I ever return?

I have no portion there.

This is all I have.

One by one, my friends left. None of them offered any good words or respite. None invited me to come alongside. They simply left.

The house was too big for me when they left, so I sold it off, and now, I’m in a much smaller one.

I am ALONE.

Thank you so much for spending the time to read my stories. You can check out my other stories here or you can read the first part.

Join medium to see other things written by fantastic authors like me.

Have a blessed day!

--

--

comfort eboigbe
ILLUMINATION

Hi, I'm Comfort and I am a Christian. I write to understand myself and others. Join medium (https://medium.com/@eboigbecomfort/membership) to see other things w