Increasing Security Risks Posed by Fake Subscribers

Identifying and Addressing Problematic Subscriber Emails for Safeguarding Account Security and Content

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION
Published in
6 min readNov 23, 2023

--

Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko from Pexels

Receiving a subscription to my content always brings me immense pleasure. I value and adore my subscribers, supporting them beyond our online interactions. I acknowledge that some prefer to maintain privacy by refraining from leaving public comments and respecting their concerns when explicitly expressed.

From my experience, subscribers can produce 50 times better results than followers for writers. I explained the reasons in a previous story.

However, I have recently encountered messages from new subscribers that have raised red flags. These messages triggered immediate concern, and intuitively, I sensed something suspicious in these requests.

Having encountered scams in 2022 and witnessing many in my circles, I have become extra cautious about sharing personal information with people contacting me via email.

Medium offers an excellent subscription service empowering writers and readers, including a feature enabling subscribers to comment offline. Most…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz
ILLUMINATION

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com