My ideal imaginary dinner

Timothy Key proposed a writing exercise on the theme: “Who would you invite to dinner?” for Illumination .

Ovkourbali
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readJul 7, 2020

--

Photo by Juliette F on Unsplash

Here is my list:

- Esmeralda Weatherwax (a character from Terry Pratchett’s Discworld)

- Lucifer (from the eponymous series)

- Dr. House (from the eponymous series)

- Hans Rosling

- Steven Pinker

Esmeralda Weatherwax is one of the leading characters on Terry Pratchett’s Discworld.

For me, she represents the very essence of female independence, strength, and self-giving.

“Witches are not by nature gregarious, at least with other witches, and they certainly don’t have leaders. Granny Weatherwax was the most highly-regarded of the leaders they didn’t have

Granny Weatherwax practices “headology,” a form of psychology that consists of imposing one’s will by the sole force of one’s conviction.

*Why did this character resonate in me? *

A few years ago, I wrote a letter to Granny asking her to give me some of her strength. I was an “Agnes Nitt” (a young witch in the…

--

--

Ovkourbali
ILLUMINATION

Born in Casablanca, living in the suburb of Paris, mom of 2, Senior Manager in Tech, Passionate about Self Improvement, Happiness and Productivity