My Top 2 Favourite Tik Tok Creators- June 2023 Edition

Creators making the mundane more interesting

Li Maria Zhang
ILLUMINATION
3 min readJun 15, 2023

--

A year ago, I wrote about my Top 4 TikTok creators. While I don’t have as much time or (as much of an emotional need) these days to be on TikTok, I do still consume TikTok content intermittently.

Aside from the actual TikTok platform itself, I would highly recommend anyone who is looking for some entertainment to go watch the Youtube live streaming of the TikTok CEO testifying before the US Congress here. My general opinion of that one hearing (I haven’t done more research or followed the case further) is that the US Congress had some valid points but they should have zoned in on some points more than the ones they actually did. Also, hats off to Shou Zi Chew himself for staying calm and articulate throughout.

Back to my top 2 favorite creators of June 2023 (Nadya Okamato is still by far my favourite creator because of what and how she is using the platform):

Photo Credit: Cottonbro studio from Pexels

StoriesofCZ

I first came across StoriesofCZ TikTok videos very early this year in my “For You” page whereby storiesofcz discusses the “perks’’ or more so the downsides of dating a doctor, having been in a seven year long term relationship with his radiologist partner for >7 years.

There is not much value in me recounting his story here apart from saying that I appreciate his deadpan sense of humour. Watch it yourself here:

🙅🏻‍♂️🧑🏻‍⚕️ 🙆🏻‍♂️🧑🏻‍💻 #relationships | software developer | TikTok

I’ll be ok babe #relationship #dating | TikTok

ENJOY THE FEAST #relationship | TikTok

Aside from his humour that first attracted me (to his page), I also appreciate his deeper thoughts, commentary and analysis about the world of academia. I particularly related to his motivations for wanting to be a content creator on TikTok. He explains, that his motivation isn’t to build an army of fans but to connect with people through thought or to paraphrase- “how it kind of feels nice” that, he, as a homosexual, mid 30s, Asian man from Canada could have the same thought as a 50 year old stranger white lady from NZ.

I promise I will make my videos shorter 🙏🏻 | TikTok

Anna Paul

Anna Paul first came across my FYP page during COVID Lockdown 2021 whereby she was doing a stitch with a guy who was commenting on how on one hand Anna Paul was being happy about her >$30k (or was it 300k? clueless as to prices of designer bags) Gucci bag while on the other hand, the Ukraine war was happening. I liked that one video because I agreed with her perspective that even in the midst of stressful, serious chaotic national events- it is important to have people who still embody that sense of joy and bounciness.

That was pretty much it though. Once I browsed through her profile which included so many videos of her jumping around in bikinis with her two big coconuts bouncing around, discovered that she was the Number 1 Only Fans creator and was a sex worker, I was admittedly a bit turned off. Just not the kind of influencer who I want to be influenced by.

Sometime towards the end of last year, some of her videos popped up in my FYP again- more of the ones with her face. And I remember thinking, she looks like someone I know…and it took me a while before realising that she looked so much like one of my old best friends! The best friend I have in my mind studies psychology honours and to this day, she is probably the most emotionally intelligent, switched on yet empathetic, open, warm, generous and joyful person I know/ have met.

With this new filter, and equipped with a less judgmental mindset, I’ve come to appreciate the value of her videos more. I particularly appreciate how she can make the most mundane things more bearable/ fun (eg. getting a spider out of the house).

Replying to @sarah🧚🏼‍♀️ our spidey friend | TikTok

I can tell you this much- I did not react as positively when I spotted a spider in my own home (I was whatever the opposite of that is).

--

--

Li Maria Zhang
ILLUMINATION

Sydney, BCom/LLB graduate. Sometimes thoughts/observations/opinions and sometimes emotions. Curious about work, money, relationships, humans, dreams…💭✨