Okay I Started, Now What?

Brittany Gifford
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 20, 2022

3 Tips on How to Get Experience When You Have None

Photo by Anna Shvets on Pexels

Well, I’m back. I took my own advice and got started. I have the certifications and education, and now I just need someone to give me a chance. Here are a few of the ways I am approaching gaining experience.

Internship

Photo by Christina Morillo on Pexels

This is one of those tried and true ways of getting experience. This method is often used by students in college trying to get experience before going out into the workforce, but it’s also a great stepping stone if you are wanting to try something new. I have recently reached out to someone in the field and asked them if we can create our own internship, and it has worked out well. One piece of advice I can give: be persistent. There are tons of people trying to get internships, and it can get frustrating when you don’t get the one you wanted. Continue to reach out and opportunity will come.

Mentorship

Two men sitting at a table talking.
Photo by nappy on Pexels

This tip goes hand in hand with the one above. Reach out to someone in the field you want to join and ask them to mentor you. For me, this is nerve-wracking, because I am introverted, but it has been fruitful. I have received some great advice, and even those who said no referred me to people who were willing to help me.

Freelancing

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels

This may be a bit controversial, but there is no way to get experience, but to get it right? It has been eye opening to view jobs on freelancing sites like Upwork and Fiverr and see how people actually describe their needs in the job field. I have been able to complete some jobs for people and get a better understanding of what my day to day life can look like. Make sure that if you take this path, you can give the clients what they need. It is important to put your best foot forward.

Well, these are a few of the paths I’m taking in pursuit of my endeavor. Did I leave any off the list that you think are valuable? Let me know in the comments.

--

--