Collective Nouns Project | Words In Motion

Saint Albans And His Never Thriving Jugglers

And A Rabble Of Bees.

Tree Langdon
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readSep 1, 2020

--

Photo by NS on Unsplash

The Collective Nouns Project is the brainchild of Karen Madej.

She invites us to select collective nouns that spark joy and write about them.

A collective noun refers to a group of people or things. We use some of them every day. Examples of common collective nouns are a gaggle of geese or a herd of elk.

Most people have heard of a murder of crows, though we don’t use the phrase much in day to day life.

‘There’s a murder of crows going after the baby robins in the garden!’

They can sometimes be surprising. Here are some fun ones I discovered in Karen’s article.

  • a garrison of gophers (I see them all lined up in their foxholes.)
  • a number of mathematicians (no other word would do)

Never-thriving jugglers was another one.

I confess, I’m a bit of an etymology nerd, so I had to look that one up.

The Etymology of never +‎ thriving jugglers.

--

--

Tree Langdon
ILLUMINATION

I write stories, and poetry, and create sketches inspired by my dreams for the world. https://wordsinmotion.substack.com/