Self-Reflection

The Best Job in The World

An essay on my experience with respect, fulfillment, and belonging

Mariana Carvalho
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMay 30, 2023

--

Last night, I watched the recent interview Tim Ferriss did with Seth Godin, where they talked about climate change, corporate hustle culture, and meaning, among other topics.

Seth interviewed more than 10,000 professionals, and he found out that are three main things a company needs to provide employees so they feel they belong and find meaning in their jobs.

The foundation layer is to provide the right environment for people to thrive, with three pillars being 1) a place where they feel they are respected, 2) a job they are fulfilled and are proud of, 3) a job that they feel they did more than what they thought they were capable of.

These points made me reflect on my recent decision to leave corporate.

When I reflect on my experience, I want to share how I felt about the three points above.

For point number 1, I certainly felt respected. I felt respected by my customers, my leadership, and by (most) of the people I worked with. I’d rate this feeling as 8 out of 10.

For point number 2, it was a few months since I wasn't feeling fulfilled by my work. As I shared in this article, I stepped down from many of the extracurricular activities for the social impact I used to do, along with the Employee Resources Groups I used to participate in. Everything was…

--

--

Mariana Carvalho
ILLUMINATION

Career mentor, writer, researcher. Latino 30 Under 30. Sharing my experience along the way • Connect https://www.linkedin.com/in/mari/