The Joy In Being Niche-less And Multi-passionate

Words by Egypt
ILLUMINATION
Published in
2 min readMar 7, 2024

I refuse to write about only one thing

Photo by Peter Fogden on Unsplash

If you write online or are trying to grow any type of online business or presence. You probably come across the tropes of why it is so important to pick a niche.

A niche makes you more marketable, they say (Like that is the only reason I write?)

A niche makes you become an expert easier (Why is everyone trying so hard to be one anyway?)

A Niche makes you stand out from the crowd (Really, to me, it seems like you kind of just blend in more, as most people have a niche.)

A Niche helps you focus (Sometimes yes. Sometimes it can stifle creative exploration, and it’s easier to get bored. Boredom is a killer of focus.)

You’ll seem scattered if you don’t have a niche (Well, if it makes sense to me, then so be it.)

and on and on.

You see, I can see the value in having a singular focus on one’s work. If that is your jam. But for some of us, focusing on only one area is boring, exhausting, and against our nature.

I believe we should work creatively from a place of inspiration and passion. I'd focus on one thing just doesn’t do it for you.

Then why this narrow focus? Because some random marketing guru said you should. I mean, what do they know? They are not walking in your shoes, and cannot see your overall vision.

I’m a multipassionate person, with many deep interests, and skills. I feel so alive when I’m actively engaged in many pursuits in life. Rather than begrudgingly focusing on one area.

Life is short and sweet, who has time to pick a niche? Doing the same, same-old-same-old for the rest of eternity? No way.

I call BS to this whole pick-a-niche mindset. If it’s not working for you operating this way, why not build work around your many interests?

That’s the route I’m taking. At least in my writing life.

For example, on Medium I write on topics related to creativity, simplicity, creativity, writing, life lessons, personal narrative, women's empowerment, unconventional business, poetry, and even spirituality.

And I’ll continue to write about whatever else tickles my fancy.

Because in real life, we don’t operate solely in little silos of specialties. There are many facets to a person. And I enjoy exploring all of mine.

Refuse to let the world box you in. Let your wings fly, and write whatever you damn want.

More of my writing

I pick my heart up every day

A listicle about the ridiculousness of listicles

Poetry

Numb

The maker’s joy

Follow me here

--

--

Words by Egypt
ILLUMINATION

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt