The mountain climb

Why it’s important to keep going even without seeing results.

Anja Joy Bont
ILLUMINATION
5 min readMay 26, 2023

--

On a hike in Switzerland — Authors Image

It’s difficult to keep creating without seeing results. The mountain climb is about trusting the unknown and continuing even when it’s hard.

Yesterday I shared a new technique with you when feeling uneasy, uncomfortable, or triggered. This morning I woke up, and again, I was feeling a discomfort within me. So I asked myself ‘Who is here in the room with me’?

It was pressure. Pressure was in the room because yesterday, I made a decision and declined a job offer.

I moved to London seven years ago to become a hair and makeup artist. In the beginning, I was excited. It was a new industry. I got to paint faces and style hair. I got to try different niches, Film, TV, Theather and Fashion.

Eventually, I landed in the fashion industry. And yes, I love it when I work with the right people. But the truth is, more often than not, I feel misplaced, like a yellow smartie in a handful of red ones.

I found my people within the sustainable fashion community and love working with them. In that work, my heart and soul are involved.

In 2020 I took a break due to my mental health. The upside of feeling lost and in pieces is that you get the chance to rebuild yourself completely from the ground. Bit by bit. Piece by piece. Which is exactly what I did.

This time, I paid attention to who I was deep within me and, more importantly, wanted to become. Thus, I started to write. The more I wrote, the better I felt. I also read a lot, and I trained with spiritual teachers. I am now at a place where I have a toolbox of techniques that I am bursting to share. So I do. But none of that pays my bills. Or even for a coffee. So that is where it gets tricky for me:

How often can I say no to paid work and instead use that time to follow my heart?
How long until the visions in my mind’s eye become a reality? Will they ever?

Everything is already complete

I’m reading a book called: You see it when you believe it, by Dr Wayne Dyer.
In this book, he writes: Everything is already complete. In a completed universe, time simply is mankind’s way of helping organize days and keep track of things. Eternity is forever, no time, only always. Your lifetime in form (as a person) is to be honoured and celebrated, not calculated and categorized.

Now, if everything is already complete, doesn’t that mean we are always taken care of? That we know how to keep going and that our visions and dreams are here for a reason? That they are here to guide us towards completion?

It’s freaking scary because, for one, it is different from what the School System in Switzerland taught me: Plan, organize, write down your goals, and work hard.
Secondly, what I see in my mind’s eye is very different from how I got my bills paid in the past few years.

In my hair and makeup career, I was about to ‘take off’ when I realized ‘this life isn’t mine’. And I don’t fit into this crowd anymore.

You deserve to be in environments that bring out the softness in you, not the survival in you.

-Ronne Brown

I was in an environment where I had to build an armour around me to survive.

Keep climbing the mountain into the unknown

This morning I wrote in my journal:
You and your soul are precious. You are doing so well. You deserve to be celebrated and be in conversations where you feel at home, like you belong.

Yes, at 27, you started over and isn’t that beautiful? Isn’t it nice to know that you love yourself and your life so much that you allowed yourself to pack your bags and walk into the unknown?

This writing career, your sharing of all the mindful techniques you are learning to find more ease and softness in life is your Everest. It is your adventure filled with challenges. And this road might sometimes bring you to your edge, but it also makes you feel alive!
And if you look around and stand still for a moment, aren’t you glad and at peace with your surroundings?
Aren’t you proud that you began this journey and walked into the unknown?
Isn’t it more exciting to be on a misty trail up the Everest rather than a flat street in the middle of chaos?
Wouldn’t you rather explore the unknown and learn and grow beyond anything you could’ve ever dreamt of than numb yourself to survive on the path you know you didn’t belong?
A trail so loud and messy that it made you feel tense just from breathing and standing there?

You have this one life. It is only natural that you change, and thank God you do. But as you change, so do your ambitions, dreams and values.

Yes, use your makeup skills to do good. Today, you get to do your friend’s hair and makeup for her wedding! Yes, work with sustainable brands and photographers where it fills your soul to create content. Yes, accept work that excites you!

But other than that, embrace your mountain climb.
A mountain of your choosing.
At the pace of your safety.
In the company of your people.
Because you are worth it and because I love you.

How are you dealing with transitions? How do you follow those visions and images you are seeing in your mind’s eye? What habits or thought patterns have you created that help you to keep going?

Let’s grow together.
Let’s climb those mountains.
Let’s embrace the unknown.
I see you there, in the middle of the misty trail, with a backpack full of memories.

With love,
Anja x

This is the technique I talk about right at the beginning ☺️: How to make Decisions Through Intuition

--

--

Anja Joy Bont
ILLUMINATION

In awe of life. Always looking for ways to feel better. I live life through stories and like to share them📚 I have blog www.mindfulbeautiful.com.