The Wrong Kind of Comfort in Misery

I’m back, for anyone who cares. Here’s what I learned about taking an unintentional break.

Ephraim Champion
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Nikko Balanial on Unsplash

The last article I wrote was on November 14th of last year. That may not seem like a long time to some of you, but it damn sure is for someone like me.

Someone like me, who swore to never do this again.

Someone like me, who already knows what I have to do to actualize my dreams.

Someone like me, who has failed time and time again to put in the consistent effort.

I couldn’t afford to miss a single day, and yet, I missed months.

Each day I miss is a step forward in the wrong direction –– a step towards that doubtful and faithless person who lies to himself. That loser who convinces himself of his wrongdoings. That quitter who positions himself in the state of the victim. That individual who shamefully persuades himself that he could dare accept a life of mediocrity; to dare accept a world in which dreams don’t come true, in which people don’t change, in which talent is given at birth and not molded through hard work.

I’ve been slowly falling that way for these past few months. Sometimes I don’t even recognize myself anymore.

--

--

Ephraim Champion
ILLUMINATION

Storyteller & experience-creator via music or words. Igniting creativity on your artistic journey w/ practical tips & inspiration. True self-care starts here.