When I Finally Lost All Hope of Getting Clean, That’s When My Recovery Started

A different approach to recovery.

Darren James
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Alex Antoniadis on Unsplash

What if you were the ‘real addict’ as mentioned in the book of Alcoholics Annonymous (the Big Book) and were, in fact, ‘truly powerless’ that there was nothing you or anybody could do about your relapsing?

What would you do then?

Would you still spend your time praying for another sober day?

Writing daily gratitude lists and attending meetings and therapy sessions to stay clean?

What was shown to me and what my experience confirmed was that there was nothing I or anyone else could do about my chronic relapsing.

But there was everything I could do about everything else..!

There was everything I could do about looking at my own part in my reaction to life, such as my deep-held fears, insecurities and blatant dishonesty.

There was everything I could do to start getting my home life in order, be useful with my time and be there for others without any hidden agenda.

Regardless of whether I relapsed, I could still give it my best shot at being accountable and responsible and show up for life!

--

--

Darren James
ILLUMINATION

A different angle on addiction & recovery. Get my free guide: How to Recognise The Warning Signs of Impending Relapse. https://darren-james.ck.page/562b032553