Fiction

When The Program Fails People Die Part IX

A Sunny Alexander-Johnson And Henry James Series

P.G. Barnett
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readApr 27, 2020

--

My name is Sunny Alexander-Johnson, and I’m Henry James, and we’re writers for Dark Sides of the Truth magazine.

Part I, Part II, Part III, Part IV, Part V, Part VI, Part VII, Part VIII

Before any of us could speak, Roberto slowly raised his hand and said, “that would be me. But mister, I don’t like the word spic. Never have. Never will.”

The rest of us remained still, watching as the stocky man slid his hand beneath his jacket.

“Hermanos, I don’t give a shit what you like. I got my orders. Oldtimer, slide your ass out real slow and easy and let the spic out. Then you three sit your asses right where they are, and we’ll be gone. Nobody has to get hurt.”

“Uh, yeah. Somebody does.”

“What’s that you old geezer? What did you just say?”

“I said somebody has to get hurt.”

The man never saw the pot coming as it connected against the side of his head, showering him in glass shards and scalding hot coffee. With a howl, he staggered back, and all four of us scrambled out of the booth. Three of us were armed, swinging up our weapons and advancing on the remaining…

--

--

P.G. Barnett
ILLUMINATION

A published author enjoying married Texas bliss. Dog person living with cats. A writer of Henry James' stories. Featured In MuckRack. Top Writer In Fiction.