Why Everyone Should Strive for Small Joys in Life

Train your mind to be happy with simple things that are easy to arrange and cost less

Writer's Dream
ILLUMINATION
3 min read1 day ago

--

Photo by Europeana on Unsplash

The last two years have taught me the power of simple joys. When I moved to the new city, I had planned to go on weekend trips.

But things did not turn out as expected, and I had to spend all the weekends in my lonely apartment.

So, I started to find happiness with whatever little I had around me. I learned the art of being happy with small things, like watching a clear blue sky and floating clouds after a hectic day. Previously, daily household chores irritated me, but I enjoy them now.

Loneliness taught me to find happiness in small daily moments. Here are a few reasons why you should do too.

There’s Natural Beauty in Simplicity

How long does it take to feel joy in the blue sky than planning for an exotic vacation?

I am not saying to stop going on vacation. However, relying on simple things to be happy is simpler than depending on big things.

We have to train our minds to find happiness in daily mundane tasks. We will not feel restless or impatient when an external thing does not happen to make us happy.

Action tip:

Daily, write five small things you feel happy about.

Affordability Comes in a Different Perspective

Enjoying the early morning sun is cheaper than having an extravagant party at an eatery.

The last time when I visited my parent’s place, I organized a dinner time outside. I thought I would enjoy it. For some reason, it finally got canceled.

We had home-cooked simple food instead.

It was way cheaper and much more enjoyable.

Action tip:

Program your mind to be happy with simple things that are easy to arrange and cost less.

Find Value in Sustainability

I had a friend who would feel sad if she could not go on a trip every two months.

Her family became tired of accompanying her on frequent trips.

Choose an activity that is sustainable for a long time.

  • Going for a nature walk
  • Skywatching
  • Writing for daily 30 minutes

I learned these after living alone for two years.

Action tip:

Choose a few sustainable activities to feel joy daily.

Enjoy Lower Stress as a Way to Strive

When we had a house party, my mother would be stressed to make the arrangements.

The act of arranging would steal the joy of experiencing the event.

If you think you will be happy only if you go on a trip five times a year, you invite stress.

Choosing a destination, booking hotels, and planning a trip seem like simple tasks, but they can also involve hidden headaches.

I have spent two years living on boring weekends and found it easy to be happy with small things.

Action tip:

Do something to feel joy that creates less stress.

  • Grocery shopping
  • Taking a different route to the workplace
  • Creating a small garden
  • Nature walk

“A flower blossoms for its own joy.” — Oscar Wilde

Thank you for reading!

Click here for a FREE checklist of Danish concepts of happiness.

Click here for a FREE content editing checklist that will save you hours of editing.

Click here for a FREE ebook on how to start writing daily.

--

--