Writing to Live

Suddenly more important than ever

Don Martin, real-life writer
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (chief editor of Illumination) is awesome. I have read as much as I can of his writing. I feel that Illumination is home to me. He has taught me much in the short time I have been here.

I have written a bit more than three hundred stories at this point.

For my primary job, I help people sell their own houses in MLS systems across my state. I have been involved in real estate almost 40 years, so I am not exactly young. I do my work online because I don’t get around as I did when I was a youth.

Today, my practice has swerved into a Catch-22 type of bureaucratic hiccups and I suddenly realize how almost anything can change overnight. Even though my income was not great, if I were to suddenly hope to replace it with my writing income, I would weep.

Enter my sudden thought of the 1000 stories in 100 days challenge.

I have often done four and five stories in a day, but I don’t know about this at all. If Dr Mehmet Yildiz says it can be done, I will try.

I do still have some fairly intense struggles with a couple of “departments” but I will try to wrangle enough time to submit as many stories as I can.

They will be shorter than this one.

So please read if you can, and please join Medium through my link, too.

Thanks!

References

Here are guiding articles on writing challenges on Illumination.

100 Day Challenge For New Writers

1,000 Short Posts in 100 Days

--

--