‘Your Story Has Been Recommended on Medium’

Getting recommended by Medium doesn’t mean you’ve become a great writer. Here’s what you should do when that happens.

Amar Dhillon
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by CALEB SHAVER on Unsplash

I recently wrote a piece called 5 No-Nonsense Lessons About Podcasting over on Better Marketing (a publication you should definitely check out for tips on marketing matters), and the next day my Friends at Medium sent me the following:

“I LOVE my new friends. Finally a piece that’s going to be read by hundreds and hundreds of people”

I thought to myself as I puffed my chest out a little.

For all of five minutes, I really thought I had cracked it. I was giddy with excitement. I started to imagine life as a top Medium writer: more views, more reads, more fans, and of course…ka-ching!

In my head, I thought my piece was going to go viral.

Even writing that down makes me cringe. But I need to get this off my chest because, you know, personal growth and all that, and also because I want to share it so you know what to do if it happens to you.

--

--