5 reasons you should talk to yourself

Ann Mary Alexander
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
4 min readJul 22, 2023

While doing my Ph.D. I started talking to myself. Since then I have seen a massive change in me.

Photo by Lesly Juarez on Unsplash

When you register for a Ph.D program you are bound to make the biggest journey of your life — the journey toward your inner self.

My Ph.D. gave me the rollercoaster journey of my life.

I know it sounds weird. But ever since I started talking to myself I have become more confident in myself.

So here are 5 reasons you should talk to yourself:

  1. Helps to understand the root cause of your problems
The answer you are looking for is within yourself.The image highlights the importance of talking to yourself.

Most often the answer we are looking for lies within ourselves. But sometimes we get so lost in the outside world that we forget to listen to our inner voice.

Talking to ourselves helps us to identify the core reason behind our problems. And all we have to do is ask.

While doing my Ph.D. I had massive anxiety. So when things felt a bit too overwhelming I would ask myself,

“Ann, are you alright? It’s okay even if you can’t do this. You did your best and that’s enough.”

When I show empathy towards myself, I feel happy and I have this feeling that there is someone who understands me.

Ask yourself what the underlying problem behind your sadness.

Sometimes we assume that we know what our mind knows. But since there are so many thoughts in your mind it becomes difficult to process them.

However, when we articulate our thoughts, a sense of clarity comes into the picture.

2. Dont take advantage of your own self

Most often the one person we take for granted is ourselves.

We ignore our feelings, pretend to be okay and simply go about the day.

The unexpressed emotions will one day burst like a volcano causing an emotional breakdown.

Self-talk helps us to understand our feelings and when we start respecting our emotions we will not allow anyone to take us for granted.

Sometimes to feel included we pay attention to what others have to say, put their needs before ours and the last person we listen to is ourselves.

Most of the time it’s not another person but we who take advantage of our own selves.

Talking to ourselves helps us to build strong boundaries.

3. We no longer rely on another person to motivate us.

Usually, when we feel low we depend on another person to comfort and console us.

But most of the time this may not work as they are also busy individuals who have different things to do.

Moreover, expecting another person to behave the way we want them to simply puts excess pressure on them.

Thus even before relying on another person we need to assure our minds that we will be there for ourselves.

Positive self-talk gives us the feeling that even if there is no one, we will be there for ourselves.

4. Helps to understand our inner selves

I don’t want to sound negative here, but I firmly believe that there are things we can and cannot do.

Unless you know who you are, you will blindly follow others and do what they do.

Talking to ourselves brings better clarity about who we are and what we want to do in life.

“Everyone is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” — Albert Einstein

5. Helps us to be kind to ourselves on our bad days.

I had productivity anxiety but instead of comparing myself to someone, I learned more about it.

Knowledge dispels fear.

When I read more about productivity anxiety I became kinder to myself.

All of us have good days and bad days.

On my bad days, if I didn’t get things done, I would still say nice words to myself.

This made me feel comfortable and gave me the assurance that I would be there for myself.

Conclusion

When you start talking to yourself, you understand yourself better.

This will help you to be kind to your own self and to others as well.

--

--