Animals

Have You Ever Been This Scared in Your Life?

Humans are weird

Isabel Villasmil, MRes.
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
2 min readMay 28, 2024

--

Photo by Transly Translation Agency on Unsplash

Okay, first off, I’ll admit I had seen that thing before, but I have to confess I get so scared every time I see it.

I know it doesn’t make sense, but if you saw it, you would be scared out of your mind, too. I am sure of it.

If you have no idea what the hell you are reading, let me back things up and provide some context.

One day, I was just minding my own business up on my tree, and I saw the biggest, strangest of things. It was huge! And it only used its hind legs to move!

I’ve never seen any other animal walk like that.

Regardless, I mustered the courage to look down to the ground and make eye contact with that huge, scary creature.

Next to the giant, there was also one of those killing machines. You know, those who sometimes choose to hunt us and birds on a whim? I don’t mind them killing the birds — That just means there’s more nuts for me!

But still, they are as scary as they can be.

Anyway, as I was in my tree, trying to eat my nut, this giant was staring at me, trying to come into my territory.

--

--

Isabel Villasmil, MRes.
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Conservation biologist gone writer. Sharing my experiences in life and as a former scientist who worked in forests worldwide.