How I have improved as a Content Writer

sudeshna karkun
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
3 min readAug 24, 2023

I have always had a passion for writing, and I knew that I wanted to pursue it in any way possible. However, I often struggled with figuring out how to become a successful content writer. What niche should I focus on, and how could I establish myself in the field? To start, I enrolled in a course at an institute, hoping that it would lead to instant fame. But as time went on, I realized that success takes hard work and dedication. While I initially dreamed of landing a job right after completing the course, I began to question why any organization would hire a fresh graduate like me over someone with at least two years of experience in content writing.

Yes, we should be thankful to our AI-induced tools like Grammarly, Everyone can write good content with minimal grammatical mistakes or errors, but one has to be the best in terms of delivering the output. One has to be smart and do vigorous hard work to be efficient in terms of output; like Charles Darwin said “You have to be the fittest among all “

I started working on content writing in January 2023 and my first article was a part of my curriculum given to me by my coaching instructors, accordingly, I started to write articles.

Eventually, I realized that writing good content is not just a cakewalk rather it requires a lot of research and smart work as everyone is writing good content these days !!

I’ve noticed that nonfiction and real-life stories tend to be more popular and sell better than content that isn’t based on reality or topics that have already been widely discussed.

Write realistic content, from your life experiences!

Readers always like to know about first-hand experiences. Nowadays thanks to the advancement of Google; knowledge is easily shared and read, so writing on a fictional genre will have less weightage than writing on a non-fictional topic.

It’s OK if you can’t write beyond 500 words if you have just started writing.

It takes time to write words around content for beginners. Writing good content and many words takes time. After all, writing is not rocket science and with diligence and patience, the art of writing gets improved.

As a beginner, I can say what matters is recognition rather than earning.

We should not always jump to the point of earning money. Yes, earning while you write is important but what matters is as content writers we should start to write on blogs, write on public platforms to gain recognition, and reach out to people.

Instead of continuously writing or being vague, be direct and clear in your communication.

Sticking to the content is important rather than simply beating around the bush. I started to jump on the word limit zone in the beginning but that was not helping me in any way!! I have started focusing more on the content factor rather than the word limit.

Take a time zone to write.

Make a time frame when you like to write your content. Sometimes people like to write in the morning or sometimes in the evening. For me, the writing factor is attributed to my psyche state; if my mind is jumbled up with a lot many work then I can’t focus. So I like to write in my peace of mind irrespective of what time of the day it is.

Keep writing a daily practice.

Make it a habit to write every day, every day writing keeps one consistent. Even if it means a sentence. Of course, this point is just a referral.

Take the help of Grammarly, SEO tools, and other AI-induced apps.

With the advent of AI, writing good content is not that difficult as it is easier to find new words and rewrite the sentences of content with Grammarly, and the plagiarism checker ensures that content is not plagiarized. I have found the Grammarly app very helpful in terms of pointing out my grammatical errors.

I am still in the process of writing good content irrespective of how many views it gets. It takes time to achieve laurels, but success is after all not that easy to achieve. And the road is still full of pebbles….

I am finally back to doing what I love the most | by sudeshna karkun | ILLUMINATION | Aug, 2023 | Medium

--

--

sudeshna karkun
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Hello!!I am Sudeshna Karkun.I am an avid traveler, an enthusiastic blogger. I love to play with my dog and run in my free time .