How To Find Hope in a Hopeless World

3 steps in 4 minutes to find hope and become optimistic again

Alex Robinson
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR
5 min readNov 4, 2023

--

Between the current rising conflicts in the world, the increasing costs globally, those who suffer from crippling online usage who are being told how their lives should be, and the seemingly imminent destruction of Earth from an approaching climate crisis, it wouldn’t be so extreme to assume everything is… going to shit, to put it bluntly.

But before these current global events, were you not already feeling hopeless? Lost? Like life just happens around you, but yet you’re not involved?

If not, then that’s great! I’m happy for you.

If yes, or life seems to be heading that way for you, let me offer some advice. I’ll only be a few minutes.

Photo by Miguel Bruna on Unsplash

Step One

Why do you exist?

No, literally, answer that for me.

Why do you exist? What reason do you have to get up in the morning?

If the answer is, “I don’t know", or something along those lines, then your life is missing a key component; purpose.

I wrote a piece previously on the matter I urge you to check out, but to keep things short and sweet, you need purpose.

If you have nothing to work for, nothing for you to chase, no ultimate pursuit you want to grab and claim in life, then, of course, life may seem hopeless.

What is there for you to be hopeful for?

If the world around you appears to be imploding, and it either wasn’t going your way, to begin with or hasn’t been doing so lately, then without pursuit — without purpose — why have anything to look forward to?

If you want help finding your purpose, then I urge you to check out my article here on the subject. I’d go in-depth, but for the sake of your time, I’ll leave it at that.

With that, let’s move on.

Step Two

Are you the consequence of your own actions?

Let’s say, for example, you have stayed up late one night to revise for an exam you desperately wanted to pass. At the end of a long night, you were ready to pass it tomorrow. Only to wake up the next day and you’ve slept in, thus missing the exam.

Even further, let’s say because you missed this exam, you couldn’t go to university. You couldn’t get that job you dreamed of.

If your current life isn’t how you want it to be or hasn’t gone your way, is it due to the consequences of your own actions?

A lot of life isn’t up to us. However, what is up to us is how we handle situations, control ourselves, and where we place our efforts.

I want you to sit back and think about your life right now.

Are you in a crappy job?

Do you hate your education course?

Do you wish you had more for yourself?

Well, it’s time to reflect and identify where your actions have made your current situation the consequence of your previous choices.

Now, this might make you more hopeless… wishing things were better…

But that’s the beauty of realizing where you went wrong; you have time to fix things!

Which, I know what you might be thinking, brings me to my next step.

Photo by Dmitry Ratushny on Unsplash

Step Three

When was the last time you took a risk?

Seriously? When was the last time you can safely say you took a risk?

If you’re not taking action, then how are you bettering your situation?

No one can come to your aid.

Complacency will kill your dreams and any single bit of hope.

Wishing your situation or life was better is just that. Wishing. It’s wishful thinking.

Actually, doing something — taking risks for your development and betterment is having hope things can and will get better.

So, why not take a risk?

If it goes your way, then it pays off. If not, you learn something, and you’ll evolve as a person.

The more you remain inactive, the more you’ll be scared of risks. You can’t be scared of switching careers, dropping out, doing what you believe is best for you…

A big reason why you might feel hopeless is because you aren’t actually doing anything to fix that.

Step Four

I said three steps, but for those actually seeking advice and taking the time to read, I have one more for you.

I want you to do this incredibly simple task, okay?

Grab a piece of paper.

I want you to write as if you’re already living your dream life.

Mine reads like, “I’m happy I’m financially stable enough to provide for my family and my partner. I’m comfortable with the satisfaction of my fictional pieces that have provided me monetary gain and awards such as best seller. I’m in my dream house with my pets and my partner, and life is amazing.”

Now, I’m not there yet… obviously.

However, write down what your dream life is on that piece of paper and write as if you’re currently living it.

Then, place it in your purse or wallet.

Whenever you take it out, I want you to read it. Every time you wake up I want you to read it.

I saw this somewhere, and if I can remember the doctor’s or psychologist's name, I’ll come back and provide the credit and source material, but I want you to do that.

Life has gotten steadier since doing that because I’m reminded of what my dream life looks like.

It would serve as a constant reminder to you of what it is you want.

That little thing will provide you with mountains of hope, I can absolutely assure you.

Photo by Nikhil Yagnic on Unsplash

So, that’s that.

Four steps, in no particular order, to finding hope.

Hope isn’t wishing.

Hope still clings to our dreams despite what the world says and what life throws at us.

It starts from within — an innate and unwavering belief. It then extends outwardly onto our efforts and pursuits.

Whilst hope begins with a mere thought, it only begins with action.

Thank you for reading.

It isn’t necessary, but a follow on Twitter (@AWRWrites) goes a long way.

If you think I’m worth your notifications, then do what you will to stay in touch and up to date with my wisdom fueled, guidance writing and self-improvement, mental health pieces.

--

--

Alex Robinson
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Self Improvement, Mental Health, and Guidance Writer | I help young people and young adults find purpose and obtain a better quality of life