LOVE

I Talk to Dead People — Here’s Why You Should Too

When you think of your deceased loved ones, how do you see them? Have you tried talking to them?

ZZ Meditations
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

--

Image created by “AI tool Microsoft Bing Image Creator powered by DALL·E” — the author has the provenance and copyright.

Every once in a while, I would look up at the sky, into the darkness and the shiny stars, and give thanks for the privilege of knowing these beautiful souls.

I count myself lucky to be surrounded by a loving family, small though it may be. It’s a safe haven of sorts, a home. Some have sadly already left this plane and are no longer with us. I miss them dearly.

When I think of them, I do not picture their last days but their best ones.

I reminisce on the good times we spent together, the laughs, and the hugs. I see them happy, and if there is “an afterlife” in any shape or form, I like to imagine they are happy there, living their new adventure.

Public holidays, like the Day of the Dead, do nothing for me. Nor do ornaments and tombstones. I have never forgotten my loved ones, to need reminding. Unlike birthdays, I don’t need my phone to tell me to remember the dead once a year on a rainy day in November.

They are always there with me, in my mind and my heart.

A small piece of them will be linked with me forever. Who they were, how it felt to be around them, and what they’ve taught me.

Every once in a while, I would look up at the sky, into the darkness and the shiny stars, and give thanks for the privilege of knowing these beautiful souls. When I count my blessings, I focus on the people still in my life, but I also include the ones who no longer can be.

Some have been dead for over a decade, but when I think of them, time loses its power over us. They are here with me. I see them, I love them, and I talk to them. Not about the news, the gossip, or the markets, but about how much I miss them and how grateful I am for everything they did for me.

I do not have any firm convictions regarding what happens after we die.

I hope something of us lives on in whatever form. After all, energy is neither created nor destroyed. It only changes shape. I like the ideas of reincarnation, the afterlife (not the Catholic kind, though — too dark for me), or the modern simulation theories, where we are nothing but souls who choose to experience this life on Earth and then return home to our original form.

I like them, but I don’t have strong beliefs in them. Since it is impossible to know with any certainty what happens after we die, I choose to believe that death is not the end. Truth be told, even if it is, that is not a bad thing. An eternal sleep without thoughts and emotions doesn’t sound half bad.

“I do not fear death. I had been dead for billions and billions of years before I was born, and had not suffered the slightest inconvenience from it.” ― Mark Twain

I don’t talk to my deceased loved ones because I believe they can hear me.

I do it out of love. I do it in case they can feel that love in some magical way, wherever they may be. I do it because I miss them and want to see and feel them in my mind.

These are not sad conversations, mind you!

I do not pity them for their misfortunes. I do not whine and cry because they can no longer hold my hand. These are happy moments I share with my memories of who they were. I feel better after, closer and more connected. Whether my thoughts and love have reached them is entirely irrelevant.

I give this remembering and love without any expectations.

I do it because I feel like doing it. I do it in their honor but with no goal in mind. That does not mean I do not reap any benefits from these conversations with the dead. I do. I enjoy giving love, and I feel loved. I feel a connection to my family, a sense of oneness and closedness, even though it is across the veil separating life from death.

I send my departed loved ones love because it doesn’t cost me anything but feels good. For that reason alone, I would recommend you give it a try. Don’t overthink things, and just picture them smiling and hugging you in your mind. Feel their presence. Thank them for all they did for you, or hug and wish them well.

If you hold any resentments, be sure to let them go and forgive them.

Not for them, but for you. Our relationships often define us and hold a strange power over us. Unfortunately, that includes the dead ones. It’s on us to make peace, accept these people for who they were, and let it go.

You don’t need a medium to talk to the dead, nor some voodoo magic or a priest.

Close your eyes or look up at the night sky and imagine your loved ones with you. See them, hear them, feel them. This way, you will always carry them wherever you are. Honor their memories and show them some love.

Be well, dear ones. I hope that when you die, someone will think fondly of you.

Thanks for reading. I like you! Subscribe, and I’ll deliver new stories to your mailbox. If you enjoyed the story, help spread the word and remember to follow, like, share, and comment.

--

--

ZZ Meditations
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

I write about the mind, perspectives, inner peace, happiness, life, trading, philosophy, fiction and short stories. https://zzmeditations.substack.com/