My Best Friend’s Justifications for Cheating on Her Husband

She’s only fooling herself

Victoria Corindi 🌻
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

--

Image by cookie_studio on Freepik

After weeks of avoiding my phone calls, Lauren told me she was cheating on her husband, Doug.

I thought I knew my best friend of over 20 years better than anyone. I was speechless listening to her adventures on cheating websites. She told me about the men she met and the married man she was now in love with.

Anytime I brought up Doug, who I consider a friend, she immediately changed the subject. It was as though he had been erased from her mind and didn’t exist as a human being with feelings.

As much as her lying and cheating disturbed me, her justifications sent my head spinning. The way she rationalized her actions and convinced herself that her cheating wasn’t wrong was shocking.

Turns out I didn’t know Lauren at all.

I’m not attracted to Doug

During our conversation, she said repeatedly that she wasn’t attracted to Doug. She said she didn’t know if she ever was.

“It’s like I’m living with a gay roommate,” she said to paint a picture of how she felt.

I knew they had struggled in their sexual relationship the last few years. I had no idea she had given up.

--

--

Victoria Corindi 🌻
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Founder of Modern Mothers, Highest Happiness, The Human Side of Work. I'm a curly-haired GenX woman in the Midwest. IT architect by day, storyteller by night.