No Gender November №4: Work

Rupaul got me to thinking about gender

Roboteich
Impersonal
1 min readNov 27, 2018

--

Note: This is part of the November 2018 “No Gender November” portrait series on my 6yo’s lunch notes. Follow along and learn non-binary with me!
< №3 Magical Girl | << Start at the beginning | №5 The Third Gender >

Before ‘Drag Race,’ Rupaul was huge on MTV

Rupaul was the first non conforming figure I ever saw and the spark of thinking beyond boys and girls. RuPaul was the first neural connection in rewiring binary thinking for me. I think I was nine when Work (Supermodel) played on MTV.

Representation is so important, it helps those who might otherwise not allow themselves to be who they are feel some shred of acceptance in doing so. To those who believe there is too much representation in popular media now, feh.

Max and I have a new music video to watch after school.

--

--

Roboteich
Impersonal

Midwestern creative technologist, designer, artist, writer, runner, leader, comic, dad, empath and member of the dead dad’s suicide club. https://roboteich.io