No Gender November №3: Magical Girl

My non-binary friend’s anime flavored gender identity.

Roboteich
Impersonal
2 min readNov 27, 2018

--

Note: This is part of the November 2018 “No Gender November” portrait series on my 6yo’s lunch notes. Follow along and learn non-binary with me!
< №2 I Voted | << Start at the beginning | №4 Work >

Neva rocking a sick weeb buns look.

This is my brilliant friend Neva in lunch note form. They inspire me. They identify as gender fluid. On any given day they may feel strongly masculine or feminine. Neva’s always struggled a bit with being girly or the cultural idea of girly. One of the few ways they’ve found comfort is in the presentation of the “magical girl” anime trope. Magical Girls in anime are strong female superhero types like Sailor Moon. Masculine, feminine, magical — all these things are Neva.

Take it from them: “This coming out day i’m going to mention something I haven’t fully figured out yet but i’ve been questioning for years. I go in phases where I hate that my body isn’t androgynous. I just want to appear as Neva, not as a girl. Yet some days I whip out cute plaid skirts and I have really long hair. I have toyed with gender fluid concepts and just non-binary in general and i’m honestly not sure what fits yet. That being said I do prefer neutral pronouns but i’m not picky. I’m just me. (^_−)−☆”

--

--

Roboteich
Impersonal

Midwestern creative technologist, designer, artist, writer, runner, leader, comic, dad, empath and member of the dead dad’s suicide club. https://roboteich.io