How 365 Days of Exercise Has Changed What I Think of My Body

More than just being “fit,” working out daily has helped me achieve good physical, mental, and spiritual health.

Anangsha Alammyan
In Fitness And In Health

--

Image from author’s Instagram

I gave up Sattriya (An Indian classical dance form from Assam) when I was 8, because the exams required me to write in Assamese, and I wasn’t so familiar with the language in my childhood.

I gave up Taekwondo classes when I was 16 to prepare for my board exams.

In college, I started running, but I gave that up too, when the pandemic hit in 2020.

All my life, my relationship with exercise has been tenuous.

I start a workout form, enjoy it immensely, but before I can make it a part of my life, something happens, and I have to give it up.

Only over the past year, when I got settled into the solopreneur life and started owning my time, did I have the luxury to devote time and attention to daily workouts.

I started pole dancing, then went to the gym to get better at it, and have since made fitness a part of my life. This post comes as a set of reflections after 365 days of consistent exercise.

I wanted to document my journey and show how exercise has changed my relationship with…

--

--