Mother-of-the-Groom Fitness Boot Camp Results; This Can Help You

Some surprising things that helped me lose weight and inches in time for the wedding. And some things that surprisingly didn’t.

Stephanie Rzasa Schiff
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by author and John McGinniss

Two months ago, with my son’s wedding looming, I wanted to get into better shape. After all, if not for a wedding- especially a family wedding- then when? My ex-husband, whom I hadn’t seen for four years, would be there!

My clothes were getting tighter, and I didn’t think much of it. But now I had a reason to get back to my fighting weight. You can read about my “boot camp” here. I’m a registered dietitian and health coach at a New York hospital. I had been concentrating more on the health of the people I counsel than on myself. Now, it was time for me.

I had ordered a dress from a local bridesmaid’s shop. I didn’t want the traditional “Mother-of-the-groom/bride” dress. I wanted sleeveless, elegant, and sleek. I wanted sexy.

The dress came in, and I tried it on. I asked my boyfriend John to zip me up. The higher he pulled the zipper, the more he struggled. He managed to close the zipper and the hook on top. I was fine as long as I didn’t move or breathe. I had been doing well with my diet and workouts but still needed a little wiggle room. Literally.

--

--

Stephanie Rzasa Schiff
In Fitness And In Health

Registered Dietitian Nutritionist. Certified Diabetes Educator. Top Food Writer. Health and Wellness Advocate. World Traveler. Take a chance. Never too late.