What is a Good Weight Training Plan for a Pre-teen?

I came up with one, but I would love to hear your ideas!

Orianna Nienan
In Fitness And In Health
4 min readOct 14, 2021

--

Photo by Gene Jeter on Unsplash

My 12-year-old is getting more interested in weight training.

Thankfully, I did a lot of weight training when I was younger, so I can share what I know. Perhaps a bit of a cliche, but in my early 20s, I had a boyfriend who was a bodybuilder, and he taught me about different exercises and proper form. We discussed carbohydrate cycling, and I saw what it took to get ready for a professional competition.

I have been in and out of gyms my entire adult life, but I have never trained anyone or done a personal training certification course. However, I teach both yoga and Tai Chi, which has helped me understand the body in new and more profound ways.

My son is homeschooled, and I include physical education in his curriculum, so his new interest allowed us to pivot and think about a schedule and weight training exercises appropriate for a healthy young pre-teen.

3-day Weight Training Plan for Healthy Pre-teens

This graphic shows what I came up with for an initial weight training plan based on spending three days a week in the gym — Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. I wanted to make the format easy to get into a repetitive pattern: 1) warm-up, 2) 5 exercises with 3 sets of 10 each, and 3) cool down with an option for extra cardio if desired.

Image courtesy of the author

I came up with these exercises mainly because I know them, and I thought they would be reasonable for beginners.

I wanted to stay away from exercises like deadlifts and overhead presses that I think are riskier. (I hurt a disc lifting weight overhead when I was younger, so I know that injuries can stay with you!) We may add some explosive movements like kettlebell swings in the future, but I think that is also one where the form is essential and is subject to incorrect practice.

I also left out other great abs exercises like medicine ball side twists and weighted crunches. My thought is that a pre-teen boy may find these exercises less “fun” and might lose motivation if these are included early on.

For his model, I used what I learned as a pretty traditional training formula — back and biceps, chest and triceps, and then “leg day.” Although I used to be a regular reader of Muscle and Fitness, it has been a long time since I read that kind of thing, so I don’t know if this approach is still the most common in weight training.

I will have to say that I am not a fan of circuit training. I am a bit of a purist — lift weights or do cardio, but not both simultaneously. Of course, that’s just personal preference and not based on any scientific study about the effectiveness of exercise methods.

I know the proper form for the 15 exercises included in his schedule; however, I wanted him to watch videos to reinforce the importance. I looked up how-to videos on YouTube for each exercise, and I have linked them in the next section.

How-to Videos for 15 Exercises

I appreciate all of the excellent training content on YouTube. These videos come from various sources, such as trainers at Gold’s Gym and Planet Fitness.

Back and Biceps

Chest, Shoulders, and Triceps

Leg Day

Community Feedback Requested

The great thing about Medium’s In Fitness and Health publication is that there are a LOT of really knowledgeable people who contribute articles. My intent with this story is not so much to say, “this is the best weight training plan for a pre-teen,” but rather to say that this is what I did and see what you all have to say about it.

I am open to hearing about potential improvements, such as ideas for exercises to rotate in. (Neeramitra Reddy, I’m kind of wondering what you think :)

Do you think I am missing anything significant? Are there other exercises you think would be fun for a pre-teen? Have you done anything similar for your child or PE class? Let me know!

Thanks for reading!

You just read another post from In Fitness And In Health: a health and fitness community dedicated to sharing knowledge, lessons, and suggestions to living happier, healthier lives.

If you’d like to join our newsletter and receive more stories like this one, tap here.

--

--