I Picked Up a Magical Card. Would It Change My Life?

Do you believe in magic?

Мaria Kriskovich
In Living Color
3 min readJun 22, 2023

--

My magical card. Property of author.

One Saturday, I waited for a bus. It was blustery and chilly, and I sought shelter.

Witchcraft shop. Interesting.

As I entered, I noticed a curly-haired woman who, despite the cold, was dressed in a long, breezy dress. She was grinding herbs in a massive silver offering plate. Something resembling voodoo dolls lay in front of her.

Everything around her also looked… unusual. St. George, angels, Fortuna next to the African goddess Oshun, Shiva with Ganisha, tarot cards, scary African masks.

This is the status of Fortuna, which I managed to take. Property of author.

Choose a card. The woman diverted my attention.

Out of curiosity, I picked one.

Open it, and let’s find out your destiny.

I was about to break the seal when I saw a bus speeding by.

Gotta go.

I ran to get there in time to sneak inside before it closed its doors.

Good luck?

But before I opened it…

Do you believe in witchcraft? Magic? Touching the wood? Black cats?

I’ve never been too superstitious to read coffee grounds, but I did look for a four-leaf clover before my exams.

Now I was looking at my card. It said Isis: this situation involves your past-life memories.

Hmm…

Let’s talk about my loneliness. Said a lonely sad samurai in my head. In my teens, I imagined myself as a samurai.

This is one of the samurais I found in St. Petersburg. Property of author.

No. Let’s talk about your future. Don’t try to find a prince; they all like blonde girls. Oh, that was my mum. She’s always too worried.

Come back to the place where everyone is waiting for you. This was a shy voice in my head telling me to go back to Tbilisi. It’s been a major detriment to my efforts to adjust to my new surroundings.

What should I have done about the card? Was it the bad influence of my past or not?

The following week, I was reflecting on my past. Did this card tell me to get back where I belonged? Or did it tell me to move on from my past? And which past?

As with any magical thinking, I could interpret it however I pleased. People probably find something good and uplifting in it. Let us say that my past experiences that made it harder for me to adjust to my new surroundings.

On my way back, while waiting for a bus, I looked up and saw… a full moon in the sky.

It’s huge! Property of author.

Hmm… I guess it was a sign. But which one?

--

--

Мaria Kriskovich
In Living Color

Writer, traveler, B2B marketer and peaceful warrior. Read between the lines.