Meet Blair Beuttler, Special Education Content at Goalbook

Based in New York, New York

Veronica Lucena
Innovating Instruction
3 min readJul 7, 2020

--

What was your experience prior to Goalbook?

Prior to Goalbook, I was a middle & high school special education teacher for the NYC Department of Education. After this, I taught graduate courses at Hunter College for students who were working toward degrees in special education.

What gravitated you towards Goalbook’s mission?

I cared deeply about the students in my classrooms. Not always knowing which instructional route would be most impactful and a lack of time to explore instructional pedagogy made it a constant struggle to support the diverse learners I encountered. Goalbook loves teachers and acknowledges that arming teachers with best-practice resources is the straightest shot toward student success.

Goalbook loves teachers and acknowledges that arming teachers with best-practice resources is the straightest shot toward student success.

What is your role, and what are your favorite parts of it?

I’m a Content Analyst, and I work exclusively on specialized instructional content. I manage a production team to create content on a large scale. I work with editors and writers across the country, who collectively have an immense amount of special education expertise and experience. Collaborating with and learning from my team is one of my favorite parts of the job. Of course, I’m also always pumped to have a successful release of new content that I know our users will be thrilled to see!

How do you work and communicate with your manager?

My manager lives in San Mateo, CA, and I’m in NYC, so we primarily meet over video chat. We typically meet once a week, but she’s always available if I want to talk more often (about work or just to catch up!).

What have you learned in your role so far?

My critical thinking skills are much more polished.

During design critiques, it’s so clear that my colleagues are ridiculously smart people who care a lot about our product.

What are some areas you’d like to continue growing professionally?

Systems design! I could spend the rest of my career playing around in that space, and there would still be room to grow. That’s why I love it.

Blair playing with her family in the snow.

What personal goals have you set outside of work?

One of my goals is exploring the outdoors with my two kids as much as possible. We have to be pretty intentional about finding opportunities to be around nature because we live in the city.

What are some of your favorite spots in Jackson Heights?

37th Avenue, one of the main streets in JH, is my favorite — it’s fun and loud, full of eateries and shops, and it feels like everyone has the opportunity to run into someone they know.

What’s your favorite memory during your time at Goalbook?

I love the content team design critique sessions. During design critiques, it’s so clear that my colleagues are ridiculously smart people who care a lot about our product.

Which team activity has been your favorite?

My favorite team activity was when we had a painting lesson in a super cool, old hotel in downtown San Francisco. That, and just having the opportunity to hang out in an informal setting.

Find out why other members of the Goalbook Team are excited about their roles and our work.

Read other Content team member stories: Kristina, Leyla, and Ryan

Follow Goalbook on LinkedIn for the latest job opportunities and team updates.

--

--