Meet Kristina Lawyer, Content Team Lead

Veronica Lucena
Innovating Instruction
3 min readApr 29, 2020

What was your experience prior to Goalbook?

Prior to Goalbook, I was an elementary school educator and an education researcher.

Kristina at the beach with her twins.

What gravitated you towards Goalbook’s mission?

I was drawn to my position at Goalbook because the role fulfills my desire to be an agent of change. I am also proud that our work at Goalbook addresses many of our education system’s most serious challenges: 1) Decreasing teacher burnout, 2) Providing administrators and teachers with instructional resources to support ALL learners, and 3) Closing the gap between education research and teacher practice.

What is your role, and what are your favorite parts of it?

I lead the Content Team at Goalbook and manage our content managers and designers. One of my favorite parts of my role is seeing the individuals on our team grow. I am really impressed by how much the full-time content team has grown in their ability to make strategic decisions, apply design thinking to their work, and engage in radically candid conversations. Another part of my role that I enjoy is designing and implementing the first few weeks of onboarding a new full-time employee.

I am most motivated and energized every time our content team engages in peer learning, especially when it is focused on Designing for Just and Equitable Classrooms.

Outside of the role, what are one or two things you love here?

I love participating in Goalbook’s company-wide opportunities related to increasing our ability to create a more inclusive workplace. Additionally, it was so amazing to be a facilitator for a design leadership training for our partners at Special School District of St. Louis County (MO).

How do you work and communicate with your manager?

I feel very privileged that Goalbook’s co-founder, Daniel, is my manager. I am thankful that he models for me how to lead as a proactive, approachable, and empathetic leader. We have a relationship built on mutual respect and it helps that we share many common values and mindsets that underlie how we approach much of our work.

What have you learned in your role so far?

I have learned that it is most important to share the why behind all things from the objectives to a meeting to the why behind a big change in company policies or systems. I’ve also learned that there is always more I can do to better support my brilliant, dynamic, and candid team.

What are some areas you’d like to continue growing professionally?

I am interested in learning how to build more advanced design systems and processes that are present in mature design teams.

What personal goals have you set outside of work?

One of my goals outside of Goalbook is to slow down and be more present and patient when parenting my twins.

We had a family game night at our HQ where our team brought their significant others, kids, and favorite games. I really enjoyed spending time with the team and their families in that context.

What are some of your favorite spots in San Mateo?

San Mateo Central Park is at the top of our list of favorite places here in San Mateo. We live near the park and my whole family really loves the summer music series in the park. There are so many great places to eat in San Mateo but my favorite is Antoine’s Cookies.

Kristina with her twins at their dinosaur-themed second birthday party.

What’s your favorite memory during your time at Goalbook?

I am most motivated and energized every time the Content Team engages in peer learning, especially when it is focused on designing for just and equitable classrooms.

Which team activity has been your favorite?

We had a family game night at our HQ where my colleagues brought their significant others, kids, and favorite games. I really enjoyed spending time with the team and their families in that context.

Find out why other members of the Goalbook Team are excited about their roles and our work.

Read other Content team member stories: Blair, Leyla, and Ryan

Follow Goalbook on LinkedIn for the latest job opportunities and team updates.

--

--