Meet Susan Williams, Customer Success at Goalbook

Based in San Mateo, California

Purva Dandona
Innovating Instruction
4 min readSep 27, 2018

--

Susan taking a selfie with her former second graders at Acero Schools in Chicago

What was your experience prior to Goalbook?

I was a 2012 Teach For America corps member in Chicago. I taught one year of kindergarten and four years of 2nd grade at a charter school on the southwest side of the city. My students were largely English language learners, so literacy was my biggest focus.

What gravitated you towards Goalbook’s mission?

Goalbook’s mission is big and bold! To empower educators to transform instruction so that ALL students succeed. Coming straight from the classroom, Goalbook still makes me feel like I’m making a positive impact on student outcomes. Everyone at the company is aligned to this mission and uses it to ground their work. Additionally, Toolkit and Pathways are products I believe in. Goalbook empowers teachers who empower students, ultimately making the teaching and learning better.

What is your role, and what are your favorite parts of it?

I am a Customer Success team member who focuses on Goalbook’s school partners, and I work to ensure that our school accounts receive the best possible Goalbook experience through well-planned implementations, webinar trainings, and monthly touch points. My favorite parts of working in Customer Success aligns with my favorite parts of teaching: building meaningful relationships, using data to drive decisions and problem solve, and working with like-minded people who are passionate about education equity.

Outside of the role, what are one or two things you love here?

I love that Goalbook is a company that eats together. We share meals weekly which makes it feel like we’re a work family. It gives us the opportunity to build strong relationships within and across teams.

How do you work and communicate with your manager?

My manager works remotely, and she is always available online. We have two standing meetings per week to collaborate, problem solve, and strategize. She has taken the time to get to know me as a person, and I feel completely supported and encouraged by her.

Everyone at the company is aligned to this mission and uses it to ground their work. Additionally, Toolkit and Pathways are products I believe in. Goalbook empowers teachers who empower students, ultimately making the teaching and learning better.

What have you learned in your role so far?

I’ve learned to become a better communicator. Much of my job is communicating either with customers or colleagues. My communication style is constantly evolving, and I take time to self-reflect and ask others for feedback. I strive to be concise, effective, and positive with my wording.

What are some areas you’d like to continue growing professionally?

I’m excited to continue developing and refining best practices for working with our school accounts. I am the first team member that is completely devoted to our school accounts from first contact through the life cycle of the account. It’s a different system than our district accounts, and I have the freedom to try different things and see what works best.

What personal goals have you set outside of work?

I never want to become stagnant, so I try to grow and challenge my body and mind. I enjoy exercising and pushing the limits of my body. I have a yearly goal of books to read or listen to. My favorite way to challenge myself is through adventure — hiking, traveling, and new experiences. It feeds my soul.

My communication style is constantly evolving, and I take time to self-reflect and ask others for feedback. I strive to be concise, effective, and positive with my wording.

Susan visiting San Miguel de Allende in Mexico

What are some of your favorite spots in San Mateo?

I love that Core Power Yoga is a 5 minute walk from the office. Since it’s in a convenient location, it encourages me to attend classes more often. I also love Philz Coffee, which is within walking distance of the office.

What’s your favorite memory during your time at Goalbook?

When I first started working at Goalbook, everybody was extremely welcoming and helpful. I appreciated feeling supported not only by members of my team but by the whole company.

Which team activity has been your favorite?

Goalbook’s all-hands weeks are my favorite. Several times per year, the remote employees travel to San Mateo to work at HQ. The Fridays of those weeks is usually dedicated to an adventure — going on a hike or playing games in the park. It gives us time to enjoy each other and celebrate the collective work of the company

Check out other team member stories and learn more about our company culture.

Read other Success Manager stories: Shara, Kia, and Chrissy

Follow Goalbook on LinkedIn for the latest job opportunities and team updates.

--

--