Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

My Renewed Quest for Knowledge

After Failing for a Decade Trying To Learn SEO, Here’s My New Plan To Tackle It

Rebooting My SEO Education: Strategies for Succes

Nimish Jalan
Inside The Mind Of A Writer
2 min readNov 11, 2023

--

Learning online can be a boon for some and a challenge for many.

Today, by accessing the internet, one can learn any skill, on demand, at their convenience, from the comfort of their homes.

This wasn’t the world I was born into.

I’m an 80s kid and mine was arguably the first generation when the internet gained prominence.

I am grateful to have experienced both worlds: one where the internet was a novelty and another where it has become indispensable.

As a result, in less than 3 decades, we’ve gone from struggling to find enough sources to struggling to filter out the right sources of information.

This overabundance of information has been one of the biggest impediments in my learning journey.

Yesterday, I committed to learning SEO — a skill I’ve been curious to learn but have been dragging for over a decade.

The length of this inaction for learning this specific skill weighs heavily on my heart and my mind.

It reeks of failure and serves as a reminder of the difficulties I’ve had trying to learn SEO.

As a result, it feels hard even before I start.

I’ve had a start-stop relationship with trying to learn SEO. I’ve tried several times, gotten overwhelmed or distracted and failed.

So far, this year I’ve seen a drastic change in my mindset whenever I’ve set out to learn a new skill.

Writing and committing myself to such tasks publicly has been one of the biggest reasons for this change.

And this is precisely the reason I wanted to write this article.

I plan to dedicate 3 months to this skill before judging what I’ve learned. It’s a dense topic and I want to get in with the right mindset for it.

I also plan to stick to this resource and not get distracted. Starting this journey is the easiest part, I’d love to finish this journey.

I’m yet to decide if I want to do this as a 100-day challenge. Because I’ve completed a few successful 100-day challenges this year.

If you have tips, ideas, tools and resources that can help me or anyone else study SEO, I’d love to hear from you.

Additionally, if you have tips that can help me tackle distractions or emotional upheavals, please drop me a message.

What are you learning these days?

--

--

Nimish Jalan
Inside The Mind Of A Writer

Prioritizing writing, experiments, failure and growth. Committed to write 365 days straight! Come say hi :)