Photo by Alonso Reyes on Unsplash

Daily Drops of Ink

The Ice Cube Lesson: What 273 Days of Writing and James Clear’s Atomic Habits Taught Me

The Art of Not Throwing in The Towel

Inside The Mind Of A Writer
2 min readNov 14, 2023

--

Yesterday, I came across a fantastic article written by Kieran MacRae titled “I Wrote Every Day for 270 Days. It Was a Waste of Time.”

My mind went into overdrive since I coincidentally breached this exact number three days ago.

This is my 273rd article on Medium.

Without any prior experience of a similar streak, my mind couldn’t stop but brood a little.

Like Kieran, I too can identify with the patterns he writes about.

Like him, I don’t know what my end goal is, I don’t know if my writing practice will lead to something and I don’t know whether my writing is improving either.

Yes, I’ve grown. I’ve hit some milestones but my mind cannot stop asking — what next?

I don’t know yet.

Having pondered over it for some time, my mind kept going to the ice cube analogy James Clear shares in his bestseller — Atomic Habits.

I love this analogy because it keeps me going when the going gets tough.

The analogy goes like this…

Imagine sitting with a cube of ice in a room that’s set to a temperature of -6°C.

Your goal is to melt this piece of ice.

Imagine you know nothing about ice, its properties, when it’ll melt or change shape.

You take a guess and decide that increasing the temperature will melt the ice.

With every attempt you decide to change the temperature by 1°C

Attempt #1, -5°C and nothing happens.

Attempt #2, -4°C no change.

Attempt #3, -3°C and you are beginning to get impatient.

Attempt #4, -2°C and your impatience is turning into disappointment.

Attempt #5, -1°C and by now you are frustrated and angry.

You somehow convince yourself to keep going and give it one more shot.

Attempt #6, 0°C. Still nothing.

Imagine, in your exasperation, you decide to throw in the towel just when the ice would’ve started to melt.

Attempt #7 would’ve been a winner.

This is exactly what happens to most of us.

I’ve fallen into this trap and to a mismatch of expectations more times than I can remember.

While I’ve taken note of the traps experienced by my fellow creators, I cannot let these experiences stop me from creating.

Not until I finish my commitment of writing every day for 365 days straight.

I’ve walked 3/4th of the distance. It’s time to finish the rest.

I don’t know what the outcome is going to look like. But I’m willing to wait, put in the work and find out.

Like the ice, a change might be around the corner.

Dropping the ball now could mean I won’t ever know and all the work so far will be wasted.

What do you think?

--

--

Inside The Mind Of A Writer

Prioritizing writing, experiments, failure and growth. Committed to write 365 days straight! Come say hi :)