How to Embrace Your Writing-Nerd and Win Contest Money

The encouraging truth about writing competitions

Kelly Eden | Essayist | Writing Coach
Inspired Writer

--

By nenadaksic at Adobe Stock Images

“Thought you might be interested in this contest.” My stepmom sent me the link to an Australasian writing competition — with a scarily close deadline.

“No,” I told myself, firmly. “No. You have too much work on.”

But a side window in my mind had already cracked open and a story idea snuck it’s sneaky way in.

Soon I was researching, plotting, imaging characters. Argh.

“I guess I’m entering a contest now, then.” I gave in and blissed out on the tasty challenge that short story contests are.

I’ve won hundreds of dollars, placed within the top ranking stories, and now been on the judging panel for several international contests.

It’s actually not as hard as you think to rank well. Although, it’s not easy either.

It takes embracing your writing-nerd.

You know, the one who’s pedantic over word choices, loves to consider the musicality and rhythm of sentences, and obsesses over grammar?

Yeah, that one.

But here’s the encouraging truth about contests:

  • The majority of…

--

--

Kelly Eden | Essayist | Writing Coach
Inspired Writer

New Zealand-based essayist | @ Business Insider, Mamamia, Oh Reader, Thought Catalog, ScaryMommy and more. Say hi at https://becauseyouwrite.substack.com/