WHY WAVE AT STRANGERS?

Making the World a Kinder, Happier Place for Everyone

Changing futures, one greeting at a time

Tom Owens: How I REALLY Feel!
Inspiring Words
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2024

--

Four boys with 1960s haircuts in the back of a 1969 station wagon, looking and waving.
AI illustration created by author with aid of Copilot AI by Microsoft

Hurray for Mike Sansone, and his recent inspirational feature, “Why Wave at Everyone?”

His uplifting words took me back to my childhood. My experiences (and experiments) reinforced every one of his discoveries. Most people want to be friendly to everyone. Even people on the move.

My Uncle Bill was so proud of his new station wagon in 1969. He wanted to take my family out to eat.

Cousin Danny couldn’t wait to show me part of the huge car. Danny lowered the tailgate, then begged, “C’mon, Dad. Hurry up!”

Uncle Bill moved us back with his arms, like a policeman doing crowd control, so he could have room. My uncle unfolded a jump-seat. That’s what he called it. “You jump into the seat. Then you jump out. Get it?” He laughed so much at his joke that I didn’t have to.

Danny was panting with excitement. “We get to ride backwards!”

I had no idea what “backwards” meant. Would we stand on our heads for the car ride?

“Sit down, Tommy. I’ll buckle you in. You’ll ride facing out the back window.” I nodded and smiled. This would be better than some amusement park…

--

--

Tom Owens: How I REALLY Feel!
Inspiring Words

As “Thomas S. Owens,” he authored 50-plus children’s books. As Tom, he debates day jobs on Twitter. Now, on Medium, buckle up. Tell-all Tom is here!