Hire Deadpool Chant

Vicki Nemeth
Intended Outcomes
Published in
2 min readOct 24, 2017
Public Domain / Oliver Tacke

Hello there, readers. I’ve written this little song as ASCII sheet music using this character chart, since I don’t like these lyrics alone as a poem. I’ve improvised the notation method; I’m not using any standard method. While the lines are not syllabically identical, each verse is supposed to be the same number of beats. If you need an instrument to hear the tones, Google “Virtual Piano” or “Virtual Keyboard.” (Skip to just the lyrics.)

Reading Tips

If you can’t see the note characters, click here to skip to the image version. I’m using hyphens for note ties because the tie characters are not showing up for me. For example, I use tied notes where you would normally see augmentation dots (for dotted half notes, etc.), since the dots show up too small. (𝅗𝅥 -𝅘𝅥 ) minus parentheses is three beats. Each repeat of the musical pattern is three lines long and starts with three rests 𝄽

3/4 time, all black keys, downwards arrow ↓ indicates bass

   E#         A# C#A#G#
𝄽 𝄽 𝄽 𝅘𝅥 𝅘𝅥 𝅘𝅥𝅮 𝅘𝅥𝅮 𝅘𝅥𝅮 𝅘𝅥𝅮 𝅗𝅥 -𝅘𝅥
If I could affo-o-ord
↓F# G# A# C#
𝅘𝅥 𝅘𝅥 𝅘𝅥𝅮 𝅝 -𝅘𝅥𝅮
to hire Deadpool
↓C# ↓D# ↓C# ↓D#↓F#
𝅘𝅥 𝅘𝅥𝅮 𝅘𝅥𝅮 𝅘𝅥 𝅘𝅥 𝅘𝅥𝅮 𝅗𝅥 -𝅘𝅥𝅮
to counter-stalk my stalkers,
E# A# C# A#G#
𝄽 𝄽 𝄽 𝅘𝅥 𝅘𝅥 𝅘𝅥 𝅘𝅥𝅮 𝅘𝅥𝅮 𝅗𝅥 -𝅘𝅥
instead I'd hi-i-ire
Harvey Birdman
↓C#↓D# ↓C#↓D#↓F#
𝅘𝅥 𝅘𝅥 𝅘𝅥 -𝅘𝅥𝅮 𝅘𝅥𝅮 𝅘𝅥𝅮 𝅗𝅥 -𝅘𝅥𝅮
because he's a lawyer.
𝄽 𝄽 𝄽 He'd drag them to court,
and when they'd stop,
they'd stop stalking me for justice;
𝄽 𝄽 𝄽 they'd stop stalking everyone,
not just me 'cause
I could afford to hire Deadpool

Repeat

Code Block Damage Control

This is a great opportunity to test how the code block shows up on different computers. My code block looks like this:

Repeat

Just the Lyrics

If I could afford
to hire Deadpool
to counter-stalk my stalkers,
instead I’d hire
Harvey Birdman
because he’s a lawyer.
He’d drag them to court,
and when they’d stop,
they’d stop stalking me for justice.
They’d stop stalking everyone,
not just me ‘cause
I could afford to hire Deadpool.

Thank you for reading

If you want to support my poetry, please clap, share, or donate

--

--

Vicki Nemeth
Intended Outcomes

I think I’m done here (for real: I haven’t participated in years). You can check out my freelancing at http://www.VickiNemethWriter.com