It’s way past time. Don’t ya think?

Terijo
Intimately Intricate
Sent as a

Newsletter

5 min readMay 1, 2018
Mine. From a trip to Florida last summer.

Reflection

in the mirror
something
i could not be

in the mirror
a meaning
not of my intention

in my mirror
an absolute
abomination

step out woman
return to you
lessons learned
harsh words heard
were they deserved?
listen
reflect
assimilate
decide
make recompense
face the music
build no fence
apologise

in the mirror
again restored
my reflection
no stone ignored

It’s way past time.

Hello my sweet, beautiful followers. It’s been too long, hasn’t it? I think it’s way past time for another prompt!!

First, I must say a very hearty “Thank you!”

There will soon be over 500 of you gorgeous people, and I could not be more grateful. I hope we all find a sweet spot here where we can examine our own relationships so that they can live and breathe, even in the scary depths of those intricate intimacies.

I also have some news. Some of you may have noticed that Randy Cooper has joined me in editing things around here. He’s new to the entire process, and he’s learning every day, but, he’s earnest, willing, and most respectful of the boundaries of caring for your artistry. I hope you all will welcome him with your beautiful open hearts and watch as he grows into the artist I see within him.

We’ve added a new space for photographic work, since that is also his greatest passion. So, please feel free to send any of your work that meets that criteria. Previously locked stories featuring your photography are especially welcome there. We hope you all find a safe space here.

Now then…

As some of you already know, I’ve spent the last week dueling with someone so arrogant he cannot see the forest for the trees, because he can never admit he’s ever wrong. He simply will not listen. His “natural man” takes over, and before you know it, he’s flinging insults from his “loving” heart. Mmhmm.

I’ve heard enough of that for a lifetime!

The entire encounter has left me wondering something tho…

As Kay Bolden has said, on several occasions,

“What happens when, as a writer, you find yourself revealed in a way you didn’t expect?”

What do you do? Do you stand and defend yourself against all comers? Or do you sit back, and re-examine your heart? Find those things in you, that you never really knew existed, and do something about it to learn and grow?

I know for myself that, when this happens, and it’s happened many times, I have to take a step back. I may defend myself initially, but, the words never leave me. I require of myself, to look myself in the mirror, and be able to see me… And not be ashamed of what I see.

I have been accused of intolerance and hate. That is not me. Well… except for those who are guilty of prejudice in any form. Those who abuse and use others for their own agenda. I will neither tolerate nor even attempt to “love” them. For me? There is little of the former and NONE of the latter. They need to change or they have zero space allotted in my world. It’s really that simple.

So?

I’m asking you to tell me…

What do you do when you find something unexpected in yourself? Your own words? As a writer? How do you deal with your own, unseen, shortcomings as a human being? As the human you expect to present?

Your prompt this go round is:

Heart

Show me yours? Tell me how you maintain your ability to look your heart in the mirror and know it’s true to your beliefs. And what do you do when you find yourself challenged… by your own words?

If you are already a writer, please follow your usual procedures and submit all entries as a draft, so that I can get you featured on the home page. If you are not currently a writer for Intimately Intricate and you’d like to be so you can participate, please either reply to this story to let me know, or send a love note to:

IntimatelyIntricate@gmail.com

and I’ll get you added right away.

Please tag all entries:

Heart Prompt and Intimately Intricate

And please remember to follow the usual rules..?

How to Add Your Story to this Publication

I’m looking for prose, poetry, photography, in fiction or non-fiction form. However you can tell your thoughts, I’m looking for it. Send it my way.

I want to hear it.

I am tagging a bunch of people who have previously taken part in prompts, and a few that haven’t, just in case this one interests you. Everyone is welcome, so if you’re not on the list, please do let me know if you’d like to be… At the same time, if you’re on the list and wish not to be? Let me know about that as well, and I’ll take care of it straight away…

So?

What are you waiting for??

Let’s go! 💋

Aarish Shah, Abby O. Akoto, Alaq, alto, Alexainie, Alise Leslie, Anna Herrington, Anna, A Maguire, arnold.davydov, Anuschka Conoci, Aphrodite Samadhi, Ashwini, Ayesha Talib Wissanji, augustkhalilibrahim, DHBogucki , Betta Tryptophan, Starkey , Bossyhead, Bruno Diniz Yonezawa, C. Duhnne, Caillan, Caleb Ramsby, Camille Wilkinson, Charlotte Franklin, Chris Coolsma, Chris Hackett, Classical Sass, Colette, Colette Clarke Torres, Crooked Little Flower, Crystal Lady, Daniel Osterman, Danish Z, David Montgomery, David Moser, Debbie Aruta, Debra Lobel, Dennis Hatfield, Dennett, Dewi, Doc Ayomide, Dry Monkey Philosophy, E. Scott Alighieri, Efe Nakpodia, Elizabeth Helmich, Emily Roberts, ē•nig•ma, Eric Jennings, Erin Burrell, Ethar Alali, Ezinne Ukoha, Fierce Force 💃🏼, Garnet, Fox Kerry, Freddie Reeves, Grey Drane 🌀, George, Giulia Listo, Gloria DiFulvio, Hana Leshner, Harper Thorpe, H. Nemesis Nyx, Indira Reddy, Indu KS, Ivana Knezevic, Jack, Jackie Ann, James Finn, jason john bartholomew, Jason Stelzner, Jeffrey Field, Jim Beach, Jon Bradford, Joan Evans, Joanna Morefield, John Rowles, Judy Ann Giorchino, Jules, Julianna Miller, JusTee, Kathy Jacobs, Kathleen Clarke Anderson, Kerry Kuhn, Kay Bolden. Kim Smyth, Kittie Phoenix, Klara Theophilo, Kristin, Lisa Renee, Lisa Williams, Lise Kunkel, LittleHouse, Mahmoud Awad, Maitri Shah, Markus Russin, Marshall Crutcher, Mike Essig, Mary Holden, Maitri Shah, Mayowa, Meg, Michael Adewunmi, Michael Ramsburg, Michelle Stone, Mike Thorn, Miles White, Mirah Curzer, miranda deely, Ms. Mayowa, Nancy E. Pitts, Nathan M Green, Nitin Sharma, Noha Medhat, Onimisi Onipe, Orisirisi, Osasu Elaiho, pamela star, Parijat Bhattacharjee, Patsy Starke, Patricia Naomi, Paul Brookes, Poppy Beth, Rachel B. Baxter, Rahul Misra, Ram, Randomly, Randy Cooper, Ré Harris, Renae Tobias, Renée S, Rhonda Marrone, Richard Palmquist, rinigitanusajagadhita, Rizky Luthfianto, Richard Childs, Rocket Worley, S Lynn Knight, Sara Fiza, Sarah Doughty, Sarah Mohan, Sean Howard, Shari M, shirley jimenez, Shweta, Sherry Caris, Sherry Kappel. Shirley Lee, simpleman, sonja benskin mesher, Sonny Bohanan, Sri, Steve B Howard, Stephen M. Tomic, Stephen C. Rose, Stephen O’Connor, Sterling Good, Stuart James, Surya Murali, Susan G Holland, Susan Christiana, Susan Ranscht, Suzanna Quintana, Taylor Adams, Tamyka Bell, Tasneem Kagalwalla, Tien Skye, Thomas R. Barton, JD, Tre L. Loadholt, Tyrone Graham, Uma Valerie Carruthers, Veronica Montes, Vicki Nemeth, Vinod Shenoy, Vishnu Datta, Wild Flower, William O. Pate II, Willow T. Lovelace, Zarina Dara 🥀💃🏻, Zev.,

--

--

Terijo
Intimately Intricate

Tread carefully. Waking the Red-head is still not a good idea…💋