3 Reasons That Depression is Like a Tunnel

Luke Rowley
Invisible Illness

--

“man standing in subway” by Warren Wong on Unsplash

A couple of months ago I had another terrible descent into depression.

I was doing too much and not letting myself have any time to relax. Now, I seem to be doing just fine other than a few isolated incidents.

What happened?

I saw a therapist.

He told me exactly what to do to get better, and I did it.

But the one thing he said to me as I was leaving has stuck with me more than anything else. I’ll never forget it. This principle has been critical to my ability to take better mental care of myself.

Depression is like a tunnel, not a cave.

Here are a few ways that this analogy holds true for those of us with depression.

You can see the light at the end of the tunnel

Depression is not permanent, and it’s not your fault, either.

Sometimes, all you have to do is just keep moving and you will make it through.

But whether or not you are moving, the light is always there. Through therapist visits, self-care, and medication when necessary, you can reach that light at the end of the tunnel.

--

--

Luke Rowley
Invisible Illness

Goal Engineer. Get my free 5-day email course to learn my 4–4–4 goal-setting system so you can stick to your goals all year long: https://bit.ly/3f8bhyR